4-Ingredient Savory Paleo Zucchini Muffins

I was inspired to create a zucchini muffin recipe because I have been struggling to use up the growing pile of summer squash sitting in my kitchen. I have already made zucchini cakes and zucchini boats, but I was looking for a recipe that did a better job of camouflaging the zucchini. These are a great way to use up zucchini, but they do not actually taste like zucchini. Hooray for stealth veggies . . . the method adds a bitof variety for me and Nick (and picky eaters everywhere!) at times when we are getting tired of one specific vegetable.

These muffins are simple to make, totally grain-free and paleo compliant, pretty darn delicious, and great for dunking in some homemade chicken soup. They are very hearty and filling, with a thick texture that leans almost more towards dumplings than baked goods. A meaty soup plus these rich, eggy muffins makes for a very satisfying meal.

For this recipe you will need:

1 cup zucchini shreds
½ cup coconut flour
6 eggs
1 tsp salt

Preheat your oven to 350. Throw chunks of zucchini (being sure to scrape out the seeds) into your food processor and process until you have one cup of (fairly tightly-packed) zucchini shreds. No need to squeeze out any water; the coconut flour does a fantastic job of soaking up the excess liquid. Mix your zucchini with the remaining three ingredients until everything is well-incorporated, then pour into a lined muffin tin. (Alternately, you could use a greased stoneware muffin pan – I would suggest lard for the greasing.) Bake for approximately 25 minutes, or until the muffins are set. This recipe netted me ten delicious, dunkable muffins.

I served mine with chicken and veggie soup. Yes, I know that it is very warm outside and entirely the wrong season for soup, but I had a hankering for it. And beside, I had lots of stock in the freezer. I simply thawed and added in some shredded leftover chicken, sweet potato chunks, diced carrots, and more diced summer squash. It made for a very festive color combination.

I am sharing this post at Real Food Wednesday, Healthy Today Wednesday, What’s On Your Plate, Foodie Wednesday, These Chicks Cooked, The Gallery of Favorites, Cast Party Wednesday, Works for Me Wednesday, Full Plate Thursday, Food Friday, Friday Favorites, Seasonal Sunday, and The Tablescaper.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Gardening, Recipes, Side Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to 4-Ingredient Savory Paleo Zucchini Muffins

  1. Yum. I’ve never made savory zucchini muffins (in fact, I have some sweet zucchini muffins sitting in the kitchen right now!), but I’ve always wanted to try. I may whip these up some night to serve with soup or a nice beef stew. Thanks for sharing!

    • elliemaeh says:

      We have been cutting back on the sweets lately, so the savory muffins were a good option for us, but some sweet muffins – or maybe even some zucchini brownies – are sounding really tasty. I might have to whip up a batch for a special treat. I think that all the extra zucchini on the counter is an adequate excuse for a small indulgence!

  2. elliemaeh, someone has a question about your recipe on the Chowstalker FB page:
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/chowstalkercom/183546061682346
    Do you have an answer for them? Thanks, Patty

  3. Nichole says:

    Just made these, and I added some italian seasoning blend (about 1/2 tsp), and they were delicious!! They almost tasted similar to the addictive ones they serve at that very popular seafood chain. Great recipe, thanks!

    • elliemaeh says:

      I think I know the biscuits of which you speak . . . and they do have a similar texture, as I recall. Glad to hear that you liked the recipe!

      • Nichole says:

        Do you think this recipe would work with shredded carrot?

      • elliemaeh says:

        You could certainly give it a try – I think the subtle sweetness of carrots could be very tasty – although you might need to decrease the amount of coconut flour, just because I do not imagine the carrots would have quite as much moisture as shredded zucchini.

  4. Winnie says:

    Looks delicious. I’d love to give it a try, but I don’t think we have here coconut-flour unless you mean coconut shredded…?.

    • elliemaeh says:

      No – coconut flour is different than shredded coconut – it is much denser and soaks up a lot of moisture. It is one of my favorite healthy baking substitutes, since we do not eat grains.

  5. Kim,USA says:

    These is awesome. Love zucchinis and we have plenty of them this year. Gonna do some stocking too.

    Bitter Melon/Ginisang Ampalaya

  6. maiylah says:

    wow, definitely another healthy alternative to the sweet ones!
    …love the play of colors on that soup bowl! yum!

    thanks for sharing this over at Food Friday, Elliemaeh
    much appreciated! :)

  7. Miz Helen says:

    Hi Elliemaeh,
    What a great Zucchini Muffin, this will be a great recipe for me to try with my fresh zucchini from the garden. Hope you have a wonderful holiday week end and thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come back soon!
    Miz Helen

  8. Thanks for being a part of Seasonal Sundays.

    - The Tablescaper

  9. FABBY says:

    I love zucchini in any way, shape or form! This muffins look sooo yummy!! Thank you for the recipe, I know I will try them…..will let you know when I do! Lots of hugs. I just dropped from Seasonal Sundays ar The Tablescaper. FABBY

  10. Beth says:

    Those sound delicious! I too have lots of zucchini so additional ways to use it are much appreciated! Thank you.

  11. jo says:

    Have you tried freezing these?

  12. GroundCherry says:

    Zucchini pancakes, zucchini “pasta”, and crustless quiches are also nice options! Pickles are on my list for tomorrow (great with carrots). Worst case scenario, shred it and toss it in the freezer. I’ve never tried coconut flour with it, though, so I’ll have to do that. Maybe for breakfast…

    There a garden blogger out there who keeps a running list of zucchini recipes just for such times. Can’t think of her blog off the top of my head, though.

    • elliemaeh says:

      Pickles sound very tasty. I have zucchini pasta on the menu for this coming week. I am thinking with a nice marinara sauce that makes use of some of my tomato crop.

  13. Pingback: No-Brainer Paleo Monday: Beefy Zucchini Skillet | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  14. Pingback: Stealthy Zucchini Brownies | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  15. What a great recipe – the perfect accompaniment to comforting chicken soup on a cool day! Thank you for sharing this post with The Gallery of Favorites.

  16. Alea Milham says:

    I love that these muffins only require 4 ingredients. I happen to have them all on hand ( the zucchini in copious amounts) and will make these this weekend. thank you for sharing this recipe with the Gallery of Favorites.

  17. Cristina says:

    Yummie yummie yummie! I just pulled them out of the oven and devoured one. They taste absolutely delicious! I love zucchini in all its forms and especially in cakes and muffins.Thanks a lot for this great recipe.

  18. These look perfect! Now I can use up the 700 tons of zucchini I have in the fridge. (And it’s never too warm out for soup!)

  19. Ken Ross says:

    Thanks for the awesome paleo recipe! This is exactly what I have been looking for. I have been on a strict paleo diet for 4 months but I love muffins. Just when I was about to succumb to temptation I came across your blog. I’ll try this one tonight!

Leave a Reply

