Zucchini Cakes, Fresh From the Garden

Having trouble using up all of that zucchini from the garden? Me too. Year after year, the zucchini plants always seem to overproduce, and I am left with piles of nourishing produce sitting on the kitchen counter that I do not know how to use. For dinner the other night I decided to try a new zucchini experiment, and I whipped up these simple zucchini cakes – somewhat like potato pancakes, though a lot better for you. They are a satisfying, filling, nourishing side dish that would go perfectly with a nice juicy steak.

3 cups zucchini, shredded with water squeezed out
3 eggs
3 cloves minced garlic
¼ cup coconut flour
Seasoning to taste (I used 1 tbsp of an Italian seasoning blend, salt, and pepper – but get creative and throw in whatever sounds good to you.)
Oil for frying (I used lard.)

I shredded my zucchini using a cheese grater, then, handful by handful, squeezed as much excess water out of it as I could.  I then placed the zucchini shreds into a large mixing bowl. I continued this process until I had three cups of fairly tightly packed shreds. To my zucchini I added the eggs, garlic, coconut flour, and seasonings, then mixed until everything was well combined. I heated up a large frying pan and added a generous dollop of lard. I then spooned my zucchini mixture into the pan, flattened it out so that it resembled a pancake, and fried for a few minutes on each side, until the outside was lightly browned and crispy and the inside was set. My skillet was not large enough to accommodate the whole batch, so I then added some more lard to the pan and repeated with the rest of the batter. This recipe made six good-sized zucchini cakes, which could serve three as a side dish. Nick and I polished them off all by ourselves, though.

I am sharing this post at Tuesday’s Tasty Tidbits, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Tuesdays at the Table, Real Food Wednesday, What’s On Your Plate Wednesday, Cast Party Wednesday, Foodie Wednesday, Turning the Table Thursday, It’s A Keeper Thursday, Simple Lives Thursday, Cooking Thursday, Full Plate Thursday, Fight Back Friday, Freaky Friday, Food On Friday, Fresh Bites Friday, Seasonal Sunday, Mouthwatering Monday, Simply Delish, Ultimate Recipe Swap, The Homestead Barn Hop, and the GCC Recipe Swap.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Recipes, Side Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Zucchini Cakes, Fresh From the Garden

  1. I needed some new ways to make zucchini. (I’ve got tons to use up). Thanks! Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  2. Oh wow, these look delicious. They seem like a quick, easy side dish that would go with so many different meals – or would even be good topped with a pomodoro sauce and a sprinkle of cheese for a light dinner.

  3. Pingback: Zucchini Cakes, Fresh From the Garden | Cooking Healthy Foods

  4. These sound great! Thanks for sharing, I saw your post at Turning the Table Thursday 🙂

  5. Liz says:

    Oh, I love zucchini cakes!!! Yours look really delish!!!

  6. Sheryl says:

    I wish I had your problem. Thanks for sharing at Cast Party Wednesday. I hope you will come back and join me next week for another awesome party full of fansastic recipes!

  7. diarysahms says:

    I love Zucchini, these look so good 🙂

  8. Looks delish.

    Thanks for sharing with us at
    Simply Delish Saturday

  9. Hazel Moon says:

    Thanks for a great way to use up those green (and we also have yellow) wonderfuil zucchini.

  10. Erika says:

    I just made this recipe yesterday – except without the coconut flour (what a great addition!). I am going to try it again, your way! It sounds so good:).

  11. Miz Helen says:

    Your Zucchini Cakes look awesome! We have so much wonderful Zucchini in our garden this will be a great recipe for us to try. Hope you are having a great week end and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come back soon!
    Miz Helen

  12. We do the same thing except we add carrots and we call them POWER PATTIES. We started doing that to get the picky 4 year old to eat vegies. Not sure about the coconut flour, though. Does that give it a coconut flavor? I just use my organic white flour. Another tip…sprinkle the grated zucchini with salt and let sit in a colander for about 1/2 hour. It will drip out water and then when you squeeze it, more will come out.

    • elliemaeh says:

      I bet that carrots would be very tasty. The coconut flour does not have any coconut taste to it when you fry it up this way. We do not have any grains in our house for health reasons. I will say that coconut flour is much denser than a wheat flour, and it tends to soak up more of the moisture, so I imagine that you might need a different ratio of ingredients. Thanks for the tip with the salt!

  13. Liberty says:

    I went to sleep the other night dreaming of zucchini latkes:: that’s for pushing me over the edge to actually do it! blessings!

    http://bit.ly/daNjZ9

  14. This recipe looks fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

  15. Pingback: 4-Ingredient Savory Paleo Zucchini Muffins | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  16. Bibi says:

    Using zucchini instead of potatoes…..I love this. We will be making this soon.

    Thank you for sharing it at Foodie Wednesday.

  17. Pingback: In Defense of Lard | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  18. OOOOHHHHHHh…….yum! Zucchini in coconut flour. Temptress! Makes me want to go out right now and buy some.

  19. Pingback: Holding onto Summer… | The Willing Cook

  20. Thanks for this and all the other wonderful recipes you sent our way! I spread out the publishing so that you get more time on the front page and to give viewers a variety, but they *will* all be published! 🙂

  21. Pingback: Seasonal Sunday (09-04-11) | Real Sustenance

  22. Pingback: Crockpot Cheesecake with Caramel Sauce

Leave a Reply

