Springy Asparagus Breakfast Pie

I think that spring is finally here to stay! Recently my parents took a trip to the farmers’ market outside of town and brought me back a delicious treat: fresh, local asparagus. (We do not grow our own, although this year we will be starting a dedicated bed in the garden. Asparagus does take a few years to establish itself, though.) Asparagus makes me happy. It is one of the first fresh vegetables that we see here in Wisconsin, and a sure sign that summer (and lots more fresh produce!) is on its way. I decided to use some of the bounty in a breakfast “pie,” complete with a sweet potato “crust.” Served with some fresh greens and fruit, it makes a lovely light and balanced meal.

For the “crust”:
1 medium sweet potato, grated (I used a cheese grater.)
½ large onion, grated
1 egg
¼ cup cheese (I used an Italian blend.)
2 cloves garlic
½ tsp salt

For the “pie filling”:
6 eggs, beaten
Salt and pepper to taste
10-12 spears asparagus, chopped into bite-size pieces
½ large onion, chopped
¼ cup cheese

Preheat your oven to 375. Place your grated potato and onion in a bowl and mix thoroughly with the rest of your crust ingredients. Place the mixture in a greased 9-inch pie pan and spread evenly, pushing your crust up the sides of the pan, just as you would do for a standard dessert pie. Place your crust in the oven and bake until it is just slightly browned and crispy, about 30 minutes. It should look something like this:

Sprinkle your cooked crust evenly with the chopped asparagus and onion.  Season your eggs with salt and pepper and pour over the vegetables. Top it all of with some more cheese and put it back in the oven. Bake until the eggs are set (no longer jiggly) and slightly browned around the edges, about 35 minutes.

When it is done, allow to cool slightly, slice,  serve, and enjoy the indulgence of eating pie for breakfast!

I am sharing this recipe at Grain-Free Tuesdays at Helladelicious, Tuesday Night Supper Club, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Totally Tasty Tuesday,Tasty Tuesday Parade of Foods, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Tuesdays at the Table, Tasty Tuesdays, Tuesday’s Tasty Tidbits, Made From Scratch Tuesday, the Hearth and Soul blog hop, Domestically Divine at Far Above Rubies, What’s on the Menu Wednesday, Works for Me Wednesday, Gluten-Free Wednesdays at the Gluten-Free Homemaker, Real Food Wednesday at Kelly the Kitchen Kop, Full Plate Thursday, Seasonal Saturday, and Let’s Do Brunch at the 21st Century Housewife.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Springy Asparagus Breakfast Pie

  1. WOW! What an awesome idea for the crust….I really like that! We just put up 15# of asparagus and I’m always looking for new ideas. Will have to give this one a try. Thanks –

    • elliemaeh says:

      Good for you . . . I am so looking forward to future years when I will have lots of my own fresh asparagus to cook with!

  2. Heather says:

    Oh this looks sooo good!! My boyfriend hates veggies & will only eat asparagus (we’re working on this 😉 so I know I’ll be making this!

    *Found you thru Mandy’s Recipe Box 🙂

    • elliemaeh says:

      Glad I could provide some inspiration for you! I have used some sneaky veggie-hiding tricks on my husband in the past.

  3. What a perfect recipe for lunch, brunch or dinner. Looks wonderful.

  4. Emily says:

    That looks delicious! I’d just as soon skip the crust, though. Thanks for sharing the recipe. 🙂

  5. Great idea for the crust! It all looks delicious.

  6. Shu Han says:

    great idea for a pie crust! sometimes when i make quiche, i’m just too lazy to bother with all the measuring of flour etc, so i do it crustless, but sweet potato sounds like a gerat idea (:

    http://mummyicancook.blogspot.com/2011/05/sambal-chilli-asparagus-and-gruyere.html

  7. Asparagus makes me happy too! And I love the sound of your sweet potato crust. Thank you for sharing this lovely seasonal treat with the Hearth and Soul blog hop 🙂

  8. Miz Helen says:

    I just love a great breakfast dish, especially in the summer when we have so many over night guest. Your Asparagus Breakfast Pie looks delicious. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope to see you again soon!

  9. Looks so good. Wonderful recipe. Thank you for linking it up to Domestically Divine.

    Love hearing from you every week. Blessings,

    Jasmine

  10. Pingback: Rhubarb Salsa | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  11. hellaD says:

    OHHHH man, this does look tasty. We used to make a recipe like this growing up, we used regular potatoes for the crust though. So tasty. Thanks for sharing with Grain-Free Tuesday!

  12. Jan Messali says:

    Mmmmmmmmmm, I know what we’re having Saturday morning! I’m definitely going to try this. Thanks for the great ‘crust’ idea.

    • elliemaeh says:

      Thanks for stopping by! Going grain-free definitely has encouraged me to get more creative with my cooking . . . and I think that a lot of times the alternatives end up being tastier than the originals.

  13. Miz Helen says:

    Congratulations Elliemaeh,
    You are featured on Full Plate Thursday this week, enjoy!
    Miz Helen

  14. Beth B says:

    Yum! This sounds great! I am going to try to make it this weekend!

    I found you through Friday Favorite Finds @ Finding Joy in My Kitchen.

Leave a comment