Beef and Cabbage Stew

My quest to clean out the freezer and make room for the chickens continues! Today’s casualty was a round steak. I combined it with some homemade beef stock, tomatoes, raisins, and a half a head of cabbage that I had forgotten I had in the crisper, and I created this recipe, which turned out to be a real husband-pleaser. With the cooler weather we have still been experiencing lately, both Nick and I have been enjoying soups and stews.

¼ cup olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
Salt and pepper to taste
3lb round steak
8 cups beef stock
2 bay leaves
¼ cup of wine (if that is your thing – it is mine – I might not be able to drink it for the time being, but I can cook with it, darn it!)
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 cups chopped tomatoes
½ cup raisins
½ head cabbage, shredded

Heat your olive oil in a large pot, then add the onion and garlic and cook until translucent. Season your steak with salt and pepper and brown on both sides. Add your stock to the pan, stir, and scrape any browned bits from the bottom of the pan. Add the rest of your ingredients and bring to a boil. Turn the heat to low and simmer for 60 to 90 minutes, until the meat is tender. Discard the bay leaves and remove the meat from the pot. Using a fork and knife, shred it into bite-sized pieces. Stir the meat back into the soup, taste, adjust seasonings as necessary, and serve.

I am sharing this post at Pennywise Platter Thursday, Simple Lives Thursday, It’s A Keeper Thursday, Foodie Friday, Fight Back Friday at Food Renegade, Friday Favorites, Fresh Bites Friday, Allergy Friendly Friday, Fat Camp Friday, Frugal Friday, Fun with Food Friday, Feed Me Tweet Me Follow Me Home Friday at A Moderate Life, Mouthwatering Mondays, Monday Mania, Tuesday’s Tasty Tidbits, Made From Scratch Tuesday, and Tuesdays at the Table, Tasty Tuesdays, Works for Me Wednesday, and What’s on Your Plate Wednesday.

This entry was posted in Beef, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Beef and Cabbage Stew

  1. ButterYum says:

    Today’s casualty – LOL. I’m in the process of cleaning out the freezer too – been enjoying scallops and shrimp for lunch this week. I can’t complain.

  2. Mary's Nest says:

    This looks very good. Very old world. I like that.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Love,

    Mary

  3. angie says:

    this is how I love my soup cooked the cabbage is delicious

  4. jen says:

    That looks so tasty! Thanks for linking up with Made From Scratch Tuesday!

  5. I love any soup and I am so curious how the raisin effects the flavor. Sounds quite tasty!

  6. Pingback: Allergy Friendly Friday 5/6/11 | Cybele Pascal Allergen-Free Cuisine

  7. Leo Cotnoir says:

    Sounds great! I’m going to try it tonight. Watch for my post on Dinner at Leo’s (ljcny.wordpress.com) with a link back to yours.

  8. Pingback: Beef and Cabbage Stew « Dinner at Leo's

  9. shauna says:

    What wine do you use in your cooking? I keep seeing it in recipes but don’t drink it so I have no idea what to buy.

    • elliemaeh says:

      Honestly I usually buy whatever dry red is on sale . . . I want something that is drinkable (makes the food taste better, too) so I usually avoid the horribly cheap ones like Sutter Home or Barefoot, but something as cheap as Yellow Tail works well for me. Cab sauv and pinot noir are good choices. I am also partial to shiraz, but at our house we generally drink it before we have a chance to cook with it.

Leave a comment