Apples and Bananas Bread (With Chocolate Chunks!)

I like to eat, eat, eat apples and bananas . . . yes, I was singing to myself as I baked.

I mean, who can resist iples and bynynys?

Last summer I made and canned a whole bunch of applesauce and stored it in our basement pantry. Then I promptly forgot about it. Out of sight, out of mind, I guess. The upside, though, is that I just rediscovered the applesauce cache a few weeks ago, and it was like the joy of the harvest all over again! I am having lots of fun dreaming up creative ways to use up my stash. This recipe is one such example.

The applesauce that I made contained nothing but apples and cinnamon – no added sweeteners – and I cooked it down for quite a while, so it was very thick (almost moving towards the consistency of apple butter). So, if you only have access to the more watery conventional applesauce that grocery stores typically stock, you might want to add a little less liquid to your recipe (maybe cut a tablespoon or two of almond milk) so that your bread does not turn out too runny.

So, without further ado, here is the recipe I dreamed up for the family this week . . .

1 cup coconut flour
1 cup almond flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cloves
½ cup coconut oil, melted
3 eggs
¾ cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk*
2 bananas, mashed
½ cup applesauce
2 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp honey
4 oz chocolate, rough chopped**

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease your loaf pan. Mix together flours, baking powder, and spices. Beat in eggs, coconut oil, almond milk, applesauce, vanilla, honey, and banana. Stir chocolate into the batter. Pour into greased loaf pan and bake for about 55 minutes, or until the top of your loaf is beginning to brown and crack, and it passes the toothpick test.

Let it cool for about a half hour. Resist the temptation to taste it earlier, because if it is to warm when you cut it, the slices will fall apart! Nick and I think that this bread is best served still slightly warm, though, with grass-fed butter for a topping.

*I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk because I usually have some in my fridge (I love it in smoothies), but any sort of dairy (if you do dairy) or nut milk would work fine.

**Of course the chocolate is totally optional, but I think it adds a delicious and decadent element to the recipe. I know that it is easier just to dump in chocolate chips, rather than chop up a chocolate bar, but I have a hard time finding high-quality, high cocoa content chocolate chips. I would suggest finding a good bar of chocolate between 70 and 85%, just to keep the sugar content down and the taste quality.

I am sharing this recipe at Tasty Tuesday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Tuesdays at the Table, Tuesday Night Supper Club, Made from Scratch Tuesday, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, the Hearth and Soul blog hop, Let’s Do Brunch, Real Food Wednesday, Works for Me Wednesday, and Gluten-Free Wednesday, and What’s On Your Plate Wednesday, Creative Share Wednesday, What’s on the Menu Wednesday, and Full Plate Thursdays, Allergy Friendly Fridays, Sweet Tooth Fridays, Food Trip Friday, Sweets for Saturday, Saturday Nite Special, This Week’s Cravings, and Baker’s Sunday.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Sweet Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Apples and Bananas Bread (With Chocolate Chunks!)

  1. April says:

    This sounds so yummy! What a great combination! Stopping by from H&S blog hop.

  2. Bean says:

    I’ve never tried using coconut or almond flour for banana bread, but now I want to try it! This looks SUPER tasty!

  3. Iples and bynynys are almost as good as eeples and baneenees! Yes, I was a preschool teacher 🙂 Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe at the Hearth and Soul Hop. I would have been proud to serve it at snack time to any one of my classes.

    • elliemaeh says:

      Since learning I was pregnant I have been getting to know all the fun kid songs. When I heard this one it brought back some memories from my early childhood. Love how timeless Raffi is! Thanks for dropping by!

  4. Liz says:

    What a great combo! Looks delicious!

  5. Laura says:

    These looks delicious! I found you through Real Food Wednesday BTW. I might just have to try this recipe out 🙂

  6. Tamara says:

    Mmmmm! I love banana bread. Can only get better with chocolate…

    • elliemaeh says:

      Everything gets better with chocolate. Even bacon, I was surprised to admit. Nick sold me on that combo, too.

  7. wow..this looks amazing! and such a great flavor combination. thank you for sharing with tuesday night supper club.

  8. Miz Helen says:

    Hi Elliemaeh,
    Your Apples and Banana Bread looks very moist and delicious. I just love a bread like that. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope to see you next week!

  9. elliemaeh says:

    Thanks much! I will certainly be back next week!

  10. Looks so delish!

    Come and have a coffee with me at Spice Up Your Life, have a good weekend!

  11. cheerful says:

    sounds great, thanks for sharing your recipe! happy Friday and happy Cambodian New Year! 🙂 –PinayMum – Mommy’s Life Around…!

  12. What a delicious looking bread to go with such a fun song. I have a sweet treat linky party on my blog (it’ll open up tonight) and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your bread up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com

  13. angelzhannin says:

    Looks delectable! Yummy to the tummy! Mine is up – My FTF Entry

  14. Hi Ellie! I am so giggling! That was one of my girls’ favorite songs when they were kids! When I saw your headline I started humming it! Yes, so good to eat and so silly to sing! I also adore banana bread and the thought of adding in a bit of apple tang sounds divine! Thanks so much for sharing this with us on the hearth and soul hop! All the best! Alex

  15. Adin B says:

    Looks like a good one! Thanks for sharing the recipe and the song as well. So cute! I want me some Iples and bynynys. hehehe… This is going to stick in my head for a while. While I was baking some bread, I was singing this song as well. hahaha…

  16. Karen Bannan says:

    I am allergic to nuts. Could I make this by swapping regular flour for all the nut flour?

    Looks yummy, BTW!

    • elliemaeh says:

      I suppose that you might be able to. We do not use any wheat/gluten/flour in our kitchens for health reasons.

  17. What a delicious bread, and I love all the healthy ingredients you have used in it. Thank you so much for sharing it with Let’s Do Brunch. Hope you will come along and join in again this week – the linky is up now!

  18. Pingback: Ideas for brunch food? | Mark's Daily Apple Health and Fitness Forum page

  19. Alyssa says:

    I’m having another Themed Baker’s Sunday linky party! The theme this week is bread! I’d love for you to join!
    http://cupcakeapothecary.blogspot.com/2011/05/themed-bakers-sunday-4.html
    Alyssa

Leave a comment