Super-Simple Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream (No Dairy or Refined Sweeteners)

I love the simple elegance of this recipe, and the rich and creamy flavor of the finished product. It is an ideal dairy-free addition to my week of ice cream recipes, and one of my husband’s personal favorites. The creaminess of high-quality, full-fat coconut milk plus the simply delicious richness of cocoa makes for an amazing dessert that puts to shame even the best dairy-based ice creams.

1 (13.5oz) can coconut milk
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup cocoa powder
2 tsp vanilla

Blend everything together in your food processor, freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions, and then place in the freezer to harden a bit more if you so desire. Then grab a spoon and dig in!

I am sharing this recipe at Domestically Divine, Delicious Dishes, Tasty Tuesday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Tasty Tuesdays, Teach Me Tuesday, Women Living Well Wednesday, Real Food Wednesday, What’s on the Menu Wednesday, Frugal Food Thursday, Fresh Bites Friday, Sweet Tooth Friday, Allergy-Friendly Friday, and Primal Cave Friday.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Sweet Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Super-Simple Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream (No Dairy or Refined Sweeteners)

  1. Maria says:

    This looks so decadent and just beautiful. And I am loving how easy it is to make. Thank you for sharing this super simple recipe.

    Maria

  2. Thank you SO much for sharing this! We just found out my hubby’s sensitive to gluten and possibly to milk, so this is a welcome addition to our dessert recipes!

    • elliemaeh says:

      Glad I can help! Cooking without gluten and dairy does require a bit of creativity, but I have found that I can adapt pretty much any dish. We are totally grain-free at our house and only occasionally use cultured dairy (no milk), and I can still find ways to adapt pretty much any recipe. It took a bit of time for me to transition and really get the hang of cooking without grains, but it was well worth it for the health benefits it provided us, and I have gotten to the point that, even without grains, we can still enjoy all of our favorite dishes, desserts included.

  3. Looks really delicious. Is it very coconutty? The last simple ice cream i made was way too sweet and diabetes-giving, so maybe this one would be a good thing to make. I can’t finish my last bacth, recipe was a bit dodge – could only comfortably eat 1 tsp per serving 😛

    • elliemaeh says:

      The coconut taste is extremely subtle. When my husband first tried it he did not even realize I had used coconut milk.

  4. Pamela says:

    Hi!
    Can you tell me what size can of coconut milk you used? I’m excited to make this!

    • elliemaeh says:

      13.5 oz can – sorry I forgot to include that bit of info! It is the only size I have seen at the grocery stores in my area, so I did not even think to specify.

  5. Kim B. says:

    I know I am going to love this! Anything coconut + chocolate! WOW! Thank for sharing!

  6. Too funny; I just did an ice cream week on my blog as well and all my recipes were also dairy-free because my breastfeeding son is allergic to cow’s milk. As much as I love chocolate, though, I never did a chocolate one, although I used coconut milk extensively in all my recipes. I will definitely have to try this one. And I also love the consistency coconut milk gives to ice cream.

    • elliemaeh says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I love the idea of ginger by the way. I just might have to try something along those lines!

  7. Sheryl says:

    What a GREAT recipe! I’d like to invite you over to Lady Behind The Curtain for my link party “Cast Party Wednesday” to share this and more of your recipes.
    Thanks,
    I hope to see you there!

  8. Wow does that look fantastic. The ingredient list is perfect. Cannot wait to try it out. Cover over and visit this week. We have wonderful Southern favorites on the menu.

  9. Carmel says:

    can you please tell me what vanilla you are suggesting in this recipe. I am not sure if you mean vanilla essence or vanilla extract

  10. Pingback: Homemade Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream |

  11. Looks wonderful. Thank you for sharing.

  12. Pingback: Too Hot To Cook Recipe Listing |

Leave a comment