Fitness Friday for 2 September

I am now 34 weeks along in my pregnancy, and this past week the following realization has hit me hard: I have a decreased lung capacity. My baby is growing big and strong, and he is pressing up on my diaphragm, making it significantly more difficult for me to take a deep breath. My normal metabolic conditioning workouts are harder, not because I am feeling any weaker, but because I cannot catch my breath. So I have decided to switch things up a bit, and work as well as I can within my new limitations. This means, for me, a lot more greasing the groove and lifting slightly heavier weights, but without regard to speed – think more traditional weightlifting and less CrossFit. Things have been going remarkably well. I am feeling healthy and strong and energized since I have adopted this new workout philosophy and slightly less strenuous regime. I felt so energized, in fact, that I only took one full rest day last week, instead of the two I had promised myself. Here is exactly what I have been up to, in addition, of course, to my obligatory five-hour minimum of walking with the dog:

Saturday:

5 rounds for time:
5 pull-ups
20 kettlebell swings (26lbs)
7:19

This is the workout when the breathlessness hit me. I was planning to do more rounds, but it just was not going to happen. Enter modified workout routine!

Sunday:

Rest!

Monday:

Greasing the groove: 300 kettlebell swings (26lbs) and 100 pull-ups

Pull-ups are one of my weakest movements, and one of the movements that I most want to improve. Kettlebell swings are a great full-body exercise, but they especially focus on those core, midline stabilization, and pelvic floor muscles, which are all so important to maintain during pregnancy.

Tuesday:

20 minutes of yoga

Wednesday:

3k row on the C2 machine

I did this at a slow pace. Seriously slow. Like 16 minutes. But it is hard to breathe, and hard to get anywhere close to full extension with my belly, so I am not horribly worried about my time.

Thursday:

5×5 110lbs deadlifts
5×5 43lbs strict press
10×3 pull-ups
10×3 ring dips (with the blue band for assistance – sadly enough, but I suppose I am carrying extra weight)
10×3 bent-over rows with the 18lbs kettlebell
10×3 60lbs weighted step-ups

Today was a nice session of traditional weightlifting, no focus on time, so I had ample time to catch my breath between sets.

This entry was posted in Fitness, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

