No-Brainer Paleo Monday: Taco Salad

Everybody needs simple go-to meals when they are too busy or tired to think about cooking dinner. As paleo cooks, however, we cannot reach for the all-too-common spaghetti noodles, grilled cheese sandwiches, frozen chicken nuggets, or Hamburger Helper (unless of course it is the paleo kind). So I have decided to document some of my favorite easy paleo meals. And what better day to have an easy, goof-proof dinner that does not require too much thought or planning than Monday, when so many people are too busy getting back into the work week schedule to worry about cooking?

Thus begins my ‘No-Brainer Paleo Monday’ series. Most Mondays from now on I will feature a dish that is fast and easy to throw together. Last week I shared my easy one-skillet breakfast of sausage, sprouts, and apple. This week my no-brainer dinner idea is for paleo taco salad. Taco salad is easy, does not require any especially exotic ingredients, is a perennial favorite, and is very easy to paleo-fy. Simply remove the shell, and avoid the cheese and sour cream if you are not doing dairy.

Here is how I prepared my no-brainer meal. I browned some ground beef, chopped onion, and minced garlic in a skillet, and seasoned with salt, pepper, chili powder, and cumin. (I also added in some chopped green pepper, since I had a pepper sitting in the fridge that was getting old.) Those are favorites in our house; feel free to use whatever combo works with your family. I arranged some mixed greens on a plate, topped them with the beef mixture, and then garnished with salsa and guacamole. Fresh tomatoes would also be a lovely addition, if you happen to have some on hand. (Mine were all already made into salsa.)

I am sharing this post at Monday Mania, Fat Tuesday, Delectable Tuesday, and Real Food 101.

This entry was posted in Beef, No-Brainer Paleo Monday, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No-Brainer Paleo Monday: Taco Salad

  1. These one pan simple recipes often turn out to be the best meals of the week for me, and with the easiest clean up, which is high on my priority list most days. 🙂

  2. Hi from a new reader! I’m a clean eater wanting to find out more about Paleo and what the differences are. So, I’m looking forward to your no brainer paleo.

    Blog: Life As I See It [Fitness, Health and Happiness]

    FB: Life As I See It [Fitness, Health and Happiness]

Leave a Reply

