Canning Peach Salsa – Or Is It Salza?


Fall must be just around the corner, because I have do lots of peaches, the garden is producing massive quantities of tomatoes, and consequently I have had to bring my canning supplies in from the garage and put them to good use.

My first project this year was peach salsa – a favorite of mine and Nick’s that is such a fresh, tasty, and welcome treat during the winter months. This salsa is a little acidic, a little sweet, and a little spicy; we both love the interplay of flavors. I think that the cumin – one of Nick’s favorite spices, that he taught me to love – absolutely makes this recipe.

Nick and I do have one little dispute concerning this recipe, however. It has to do with pronunciation. So, readers, feel free to chime in, if you so desire. How do you pronounce the word ‘salsa’? Do you say it ‘sal-sah’ or ‘sal-zah’? Just taking an informal poll . . .

But back to the task at hand. If you have a hot water bath, a desire to do some canning, and lots of tomatoes and peaches to use up, give this recipe a try – you will end up with approximately eight quarts of salsa to enjoy throughout the winter months.

7 lbs chopped Roma tomatoes
5 lbs peeled and chopped hard, unripe peaches
8 cups diced yellow onions
5 cups chopped green, red yellow and/or orange bell peppers
3 tbsp canning salt
3 tbsp crushed red pepper flakes
3 tbsp cumin
1 tbsp black pepper
1 lb honey
6 cups cider vinegar (5%)

Place all of the ingredients into one very large sauce pot – or divide the ingredients between two somewhat large sauce pots. You should have a gorgeous rainbow mix of home-grown fruits and veggies. Bring to boiling, then reduce the heat and simmer for 30 minutes, or until the peaches have softened. With a slotted spoon, fill salsa solids into hot, sanitized jars, leaving 1¼-inch headspace. Cover with cooking liquid, which then should leave ½-inch headspace. Wipe rim and screw threads with a clean damp cloth. Add lid, screw band and tighten firmly and evenly.  Process the jars in a boiling water bath, 45 minutes for quart jars and 35 minutes for pint jars.

I am sharing this post at the Ultimate Recipe Swap, The Gallery of Favorites, Healthy Today Wednesday, Cooking Thursday, Simple Lives Thursday, Food Friday, Fresh Bites Friday, Foodie Friday, Friday Favorites, Fresh Food Friday, Freaky Friday, Food On Fridays, Fight Back Friday, Food Trip Friday, Whole Health Weekend, Seasonal Sunday, The Homestead Barn Hop, the Living Well Blog Hop, and the Canning Week Linky.

This entry was posted in Canning, Condiments, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Canning Peach Salsa – Or Is It Salza?

  1. Maya says:

    Hi, I’m a paleo mom too (x3), thanks for this lovely blog.

  2. It’s Sal-sah to me… not sure where the zah would come from anyway! But…in the whole scheme of things…sal-sah is something I can’t, couldn’t and will never live without no matter how other people pronounce it!!!! This recipe looks divine…

    • elliemaeh says:

      Thanks for dropping by and participating in my poll!

      I know what you mean . . . this stuff gets me through the winter months! It is a wonderful reminder of summer and our garden-fresh produce. I expect to be making several more batches when the rest of the tomato crop comes in.

  3. I don’t think it matters what you call it as long as I can make it. The sal S a sounds fantastic.
    Has your husband ever heard someone say this as salza?

    • elliemaeh says:

      Maybe it is a Wisconsin thing, but a lot of us pronounce it with a ‘z’ sound. And here in WI we also refer to water fountains as bubblers – it is a strange dialect.

  4. Luna Miranda says:

    it’s sal-sah for me.:p a peach salsa sounds delicious! we only get canned peaches here in sugar syrup. never had fresh peaches.

  5. maiylah says:

    wow, look at all those fresh colors! delicious!!!!
    …it’s sal-sah for me, too. 😉

    thanks so much for linking to Food Friday!
    much appreciated! 🙂

  6. Alea Milham says:

    What a great recipe! I am excited to find a recipe for unripe peaches…they are so much easier to fine than ripe peaches. 🙂 Thanks for sharing this post with Gallery of Favorites.

  7. Snap says:

    Who cares how it is pronounced as long as it tastes good!!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D
    Looks yummy! (I think one is a dance and one is eatable???)

  8. I love this recipe with all its gorgeous fresh fruit and vegetables! Great that you can use under-ripe peaches too. We say salsa in our house, but I think either is fine! Thank you for sharing such a lovely way to preserve summer sunshine for the winter with The Gallery of Favorites.

  9. Cheerful says:

    wow, that sounds so delicious…thanks for sharing your recipe. 🙂 but peaches here are expensive, just buying the canned peaches in syrup. visiting from FTF and i hope you can visit me back! thanks and have a great week. 🙂

  10. Linda says:

    Salsah works for me, and you’ve got a good one here. Very interesting combination of ingredients.

  11. This sounds yummy! I’m going to give it a try. I love both tomatoes and peaches and salsa is one of my all time favorite things! YUM! I stopped by from Canning Week.

  12. Thanks for leaving your post here as part of the Living Well link-up! We appreciate the contribution!

  13. This looks absolutely fabulous. Love the color. Great to have you being a part of Seasonal Sundays. Sorry to be so late in getting to visit.

    – The Tablescaper

  14. This looks so delicious! I shared on my fb page. I like the unique combination of ingredients. Thanks for linking up to the Living Well Blog Hop! I hope to see you this Friday again.

  15. This looks so delicious!

    Thank you for your submission on Nourishing Treasure’s Whole Health Weekend Link-Up.

    Check back tomorrow when the new link-up is running to see if you were one of the top 3 featured posts! 🙂

  16. Ott, A says:

    I love peach salsa. It is the best way to make and eat it! Thanks a Latte’ for linking up to our Canning Week Blog party!

  17. Pingback: No-Brainer Paleo Monday: Taco Salad | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

Leave a Reply

