Paleo Hamburger Helper

This paleo-fied version is pretty much just as easy as Hamburger Helper, and a whole lot healthier, too. No mystery foods, and plenty of good fats. And real, fresh veggies, too! I absolutely love the warmth and spice that the garam masala provides to this dish, and I think that it compliments the slight sweetness of the yams perfectly. I also love creamy indulgence of coconut milk – it is so much better than any glutenous sauce I have come across. My favorite brand of coconut milk is far and away Aroy-D – it is rich and thick, and, unlike most other brands, contains no guar gum. (For my paleo challenge participants who might not be familiar with coconut milk, you can find it in Woodman’s in the Asian foods aisle.)

To make this simple, delicious, healthy hamburger helper you will need:

1lb ground beef
½ onion, finely chopped
1 yam, finely chopped (I chopped the yam almost as finely as the onion, just so it cooked faster)
2/3 cup coconut milk
1 tbsp garam masala

Brown your meat with the onion in a large skillet over medium heat. If you have a lot of extra fat in the pan, pour some of it off. (We use it for dog treats in our house because really, who could resist a face like that?) Then add in your veggies, coconut milk, and seasoning. Turn the heat down to low, cover, and simmer until the veggies are tender, about 20 minutes.

Not only is this recipe super-easy, it is also super-versatile. You can switch up your meats – the day that I made the batch pictured above, I had some ground turkey sitting in the fridge that needed to be cooked up. I doubled the recipe, using a pound each of beef and turkey. Do not like yams? Do not have any on hand? Trying to lose some weight and looking for something lower in carbohydrates? Try another vegetable. Chopped carrots would be luscious. If your garden is overflowing with butternut squash, chop some up and throw it in. (Our squash are not quite ripe yet, but I know that we will soon be inundated.) I love garam masala, but if it is not something that you enjoy or keep in your kitchen, then try a different spice combination. The possibilities are endless . . .

I am sharing this post at Turning the Table Thursday, Simple Lives Thursday, Friday Food, Fat Camp Friday, Friday Potluck, Foodie Friday, Savory Sunday, Hunk of Meat Monday, Simply Delish, the GCC Recipe Swap, and Primal Cave Friday.

This entry was posted in Beef, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Paleo Hamburger Helper

  1. Grace says:

    What an adorable dog!

  2. KB says:

    Yum. Thanks for sharing with us at

    Simply Delish Saturday

    Love your dog.

  3. I love this! My kids might actually eat it!

  4. Yams, something that never crosses my mind to use. But I love sweet potato fries, so surely I would love yams too. Thanks for linking up to Hunk of Meat Monday.

  5. Pingback: No-Brainer Paleo Monday: Taco Salad | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

Leave a Reply

