Packing a Paleo Lunch

In speaking with the participants of our newly-begun paleo challenge, I am reminded that one of the major ways in which a person can set himself up for success when attempting such a major lifestyle change is to plan ahead and be prepared. When you get hungry in the middle of the day, when temptation strikes, when the bundt cake that your co-worker brought to the office to celebrate somebody’s birthday is staring you in the face (that was always my downfall – I worked with some pretty awesome bakers!), be prepared with healthy, nourishing, tasty food to keep you full.

Packing a lunch is so much more financially savvy then buying one, and invariably healthier. And packing a paleo lunch does not have to be difficult at all. Nor does it have to be boring. So for today’s post I thought it might be helpful to share several examples of what I have been packing in Nick’s lunches for the past weeks.

First up we have two hamburger patties seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder, homemade sauerkraut, some almonds, and an apple. I made myself some hamburgers for dinner the night before, and I simply threw a few extra patties in the pan for Nick – little to no extra work.

 

 

Leftovers are perfect for packing in lunches. Very often I will make a huge batch of chili over the weekend (think nine or ten pounds of meat), have some for supper on Sunday, and then have lots of easy lunches for Nick and me. If you want to make my chili recipe 100% paleo challenge approved, simply omit the cocoa powder. Along with a bowl of chili I packed Nick some pecans and a peach on this day.

Another example of leftovers for lunch, yesterday I packed up part of a zucchini boat and a generous dollop of turnip mash for Nick’s lunch. I added a pear to his bag, and he was good to go.

 

 

This lunch included watermelon and dark leafy greens with carrots, yellow tomatoes (fresh from the garden!) and leftover beef. It is an almost unheard-of occurrence in our house to have leftover beef, but my parents grilled up what looked like a quarter cow the other night, and we did not quite manage to devour all of it. I topped off the salad with some olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and added a hard-boiled egg for some extra fat and protein.

Mini quiches are another easy make-ahead lunch – I diced whatever veggies I had on hand, mixed them in with some eggs, and baked in greased muffin tins. They are easy, portable, do not require utensils, and make a filling lunch, especially when paired with a piece of fruit and a handful of nuts.

 

 

And finally, my old stand-by is hard-boiled eggs. They are the easiest and most portable lunch idea I have come up with. If you make a whole batch over the weekend, you can just grab a few when you are heading out the door for work – no extra time or effort at all. I added a pear and some pecans to Nick’s lunch.

This entry was posted in Nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

