Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

Today is the last installment in my week of smoothie recipes, and I decided to experiment with pumpkin to provide a little variety. I love the taste of pumpkin – in paleo pies, in dessert bars, and in pancakes (try it in place of sweet potato sometime!). Pumpkin also gets me thinking very cheerful thoughts about the upcoming harvest and the cool, crisp fall weather that will be arriving (I hope!) shortly. I used some of my grass-fed homemade yogurt in this recipe for the probiotic boost and healthy fats, but if you do not eat cultured dairy some coconut kefir will provide a similar tartness. Just adding some extra coconut milk could also be an option.

½ cup yogurt
½ cup coconut milk
1 banana, frozen
¼ cup steamed mashed pumpkin
Pinch each cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger

Throw in your blender, blend until smooth, and enjoy the taste of fall!

I am sharing this post at Sweets for a Saturday, Melt in Your Mouth Monday, and Let’s Do Brunch at the 21st Century Housewife.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes, Sweet Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

  1. cindy says:

    I’m anxious to start cooking with pumpkin–this looks like a yummy place to start. Great flavors in this drink–I love the addition of coconut milk.

  2. Pingback: Dairy-Free Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  3. Pingback: 31-Week Pregnancy Update and Belly Picture | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

Leave a Reply

