Easy Honey Mustard Chicken for a Busy Day

This recipe was born of necessity. I had some chicken in the fridge that needed to be cooked, but grocery day was quickly approaching, and I had none of the trimmings that I would typically use to prepare a chicken dinner. But there was a bit of honey in the cupboard and some Dijon in the fridge, so I decided to run with it. It turned out to be pretty tasty, if I do say so myself. It also earned Nick’s seal of approval. There were no leftovers to speak of, and the next day I was off to the grocery store to pick up all of the usual trimmings and try some more involved recipes. But just in case you are having one of those bare-shelves-and-no-inspiration days, this is a good recipe to try.

About 2 lbs of chicken pieces (I had breasts on hand)
Salt to taste
½ cup honey
2 tbsp Dijon mustard
1 tsp curry powder

Preheat your oven to 350. Place your chicken in a greased pan and season with salt to taste. Heat your honey on the stovetop or in the microwave until it is hot, thin, and mixable. Whisk in the Dijon and curry powder, then pour evenly over your chicken. Bake for 45 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked through. (The cooking times will differ, depending on what pieces of the bird you are preparing.) I served this dinner with carrots, boiled in a bone broth that I made from a previous chicken carcass, and covered the meat and veggies with pan juices. I also had the remaining broth in a coffee mug as my beverage at the meal, so I could get as much nutrition as possible for me and the growing baby.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

