22 Week Belly

I was walking down the street today and saw a preschool-aged boy. He looked at my belly, pointed, and said “you have a baby in there.” I guess that means I look really pregnant. My waist has gone from 24 to 38 inches, and I have gained a total of ten pounds. I am still feeling great, not one single negative pregnancy symptom to report. At my last visit with my midwives I told them that I am boringly healthy. The baby is becoming more and more active. His favorite time to move around is between ten and midnight – I think that he is going to be a night owl. He is getting bigger and stronger, and Nick was finally able to feel him kick this week.

This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 22 Week Belly

  1. justin says:

    i’m excited for yous guys. yay.

    • elliemaeh says:

      Thanks, Uncle Justin! You will have to swing by during all of your travels to meet the little guy once he arrives.

  2. JJ says:

    Beautiful!

  3. Carmen Leal says:

    Nick was a serious night owl when he was a baby. Actually, he just didn’t need much sleep at all. He was a major kicker too. So maybe it’s a case of like father like son.

    Thanks for the updates.

    Grandma. Wow, first time typing that! Yikes!

    • elliemaeh says:

      I am going to bet that this little one will be a lot like his dad. Which would also explain why I am now more fond of eggs, pork sausage, and cabbage sauteed in butter – quite a departure from my usual tastes. I hear from my parents that I did not sleep much at all, though I did scream a lot as a baby. I have warned Nick that we might be in for a wild ride.

      It makes me feel so much better, though, to feel when the baby is kicking. I appreciate having the frequent reassurance that he is doing fine in there, and I get kind of lonely when he is still.

      I am so glad that you enjoyed the pictures. I sent copies to Nick Senior as well, but as it turns out it would have been faster and easier to give them to him in person. He just called yesterday to tell us that he and Mira were in Chicago, so I am headed off to meet the two of them for dinner shortly.

Leave a Reply

