Fitness Friday

Welcome to another edition of fitness Friday, documenting my exercise routine for the past week – week 20 of pregnancy.

Saturday

Today I was not feeling in the mood to do a timed CrossFit-style workout, so I instead put together a smorgasbord of weightlifting, body weight exercises, and kettlebell swings (great for those pelvic floor muscles!).

3×3 33lbs back squat as a warm-up
5×5 53lbs back squat
5×10 push-ups
10×5 pull-ups
50 53lbs KB swings

Sunday

Here was a quick CrossFit workout that aimed to work on the posterior chain of muscles.

21-15-9
Deadlifts (75lbs)
Push jerk (33lbs)
5:31

Monday

Monday was Memorial Day, the day when almost all CrossFit gyms do the hero WOD ‘Murph’ for a workout. Our gym was no exception. Since it was hot and muggy and I am getting bigger, I opted for a 1/2 Murph – no need to stress the baby – and took it very slow and easy. I finished somewhere between 30 and 40 minutes. My focus was not on time. And for those of you who are not familiar, a 1/2 Murph is:

Run 1/2 mile
50 pull-ups
100 push-ups
150 squats
Run 1/2 mile

Nick, on the other hand, did a full Murph (just multiply all of those numbers by two) while wearing a 20 lbs flak jacket. He has my sincere admiration.

Tuesday

Yeah, after Murph, today was my rest day for the week.

Wednesday

10 deadlifts (75lbs), 1 pull-up
9 deadlifts, 2 pull-ups
8 deadlifts, 3 pull-ups
7 deadlifts, 4 pull-ups
. . . . and so on, you get the picture, until . . .
1 deadlift, 10 pull-ups
10:38

I did fine with the deadlifts (hooray for my ever-strengthening posterior chain!), but the pull-ups were rough. I can really feel the extra few pounds I have gained (Eight pounds make a bigger difference than I would have imagined!) and I have not been practicing my pull-ups as assiduously as I ought.

Thursday

Today was yoga day! I like yoga day. I did about 30 minutes of work focusing on my hamstrings – which always seem to be my tightest muscles – with some flexibility and opening work and a lot of standing poses for strength.

I have also been spending a lot of time out in the beautiful summery weather working at the farm and walking the dog. I logged somewhere around five hours of dog walking this week. In the heat, Dakota now tires out more quickly than I do – I have to cajole her to go outside because I love the movement, fresh air, and vitamin D.

This entry was posted in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

