Fitness Fail Friday, Volume IV


Since I will officially be 18 weeks pregnant tomorrow, I had to pull the suggested “exercise” for week 18 from Your Pregnancy Week by Week. They suggest stepping forward with one foot and doing the wave . . . at least as much as I can tell. Everybody put your hands up in the air . . .

I swear, this song was all I could think of when reading about this week’s “exercise,” and it kinda made me want to dance. But apparently I need to be careful, and not keep dancing for the entire duration of the song. The authors want to be sure that we only do this ‘hands up in the air’ movement eight times on each side . . . it is awfully strenuous, after all. We would not want to over-exert ourselves.

They market this as an exercise that will tone and strengthen my arms, upper back, and shoulders. I highly doubt it, although some presses might do the trick. And it also allegedly will strengthen my buttocks and the backs of my legs. I am not so sure about the veracity of that statement, either. I would really rather do some deadlifts. Much more effective, and a lot less ridiculous-looking.

Here is my exercise regimen for the past week which, along with the requisite dog walking, has kept me feeling strong and energized (and maybe just a little sore, but in a good way!).

Saturday

I was rather tired this weekend from the last week’s worth of CrossFit workouts, so I decided to relax a little bit. Not quite to the level of Your Pregnancy Week by Week’s recommendation, bit a little bit. My workout for Saturday consisted of just a little bit of light weightlifting:

5×3 deadlift at 105lbs, back squat at 55lbs, and press at 38lbs
. . . and then I spent some time stretching out my hamstrings and glutes.

Sunday

Today’s workout involved 30 minutes of yoga, focused mainly on the hamstrings, with some more stretching afterwards.

Monday

And I am back to feeling like my energetic self! I designed a workout in which every movement involved my 18lbs kettlebell. The Turkish get-ups are great for my balance.

20 kettlebell clean and jerks (right arm)
2 Turkish get-ups
20 kettlebell clean and jerks (left arm)
2 Turkish get-ups
20 one-arm kettlebell swings (right arm)
2 Turkish get-ups
20 one-arm kettlebell swings (left arm)
2 Turkish get-ups
20 back squats (kettlebell in back rack position)
2 Turkish get-ups
13:20

Tuesday

3 rounds:
25 kettlebell swings (26lbs)
20 box jumps
15 push-ups
10 deadlifts (75lbs)
5 push press (38lbs)
12:59

Wednesday

250m row
25 squats
250m row
25 walking lunges
250m row
25 walking lunges
250m row
25 one-legged deadlift squats (right)
250m row
25 one-legged deadlift squats (left)
250m row
16:11

Thursday

100 second plank hold
100 one-legged deadlift squats
100 chair dips
100 steps walking lunge
19:16

This entry was posted in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

