Paleo Egg Foo Yung

This dish is a great way to use up any leftover meat that you might have hanging around in your fridge – chicken, shrimp, pork, beef – all of it works. It is also a great way to beat egg exhaustion. If you are the type of person who gets tired of eating eggs all the time. I am not that type of person. I gleefully devour them every morning for breakfast, unless of course we are out, which is a tragic and thankfully rare occurrence. But egg foo yung is a tasty and novel way to incorporate eggs into any meal of the day. The leftover meat gives these cakes an extra protein boost that is very satisfying, and the bulk of the cabbage and onion keeps me feeling very full.

Egg foo yung is traditionally made with bean sprouts, but I ditched them in favor of the more paleo-friendly sautéed cabbage. The Chinese take-out version (which I admit I used to enjoy) includes lots of MSG and glutenous gravy, and is more than likely fried in hydrogenated vegetable oils. I ditched the gravy altogether (these little patties are moist and flavorful enough by themselves), and since we do not keep any neurotoxins in the kitchen, I added in some real spices in place of the MSG. And as for the frying? We do not keep any hydrogenated anything in our house either; I used lard. So here is my recipe for paleo-fied egg foo yung – so much better than the Chinese take-out place.

½ cup chopped cabbage
¼ cup finely chopped onion
2 eggs
¼ cup chopped cooked protein (I used chicken)
2 teaspoons coconut flour
½ teaspoon Chinese five spice powder
Salt and pepper to taste
Oil for frying

Heat a skillet and add some cooking oil. Saute the cabbage and onion until softened. Beat the eggs in a mixing bowl and then add in the veggies, protein, coconut flour, and spices. Scoop up the batter by heaping tablespoons and fry like pancakes in your pan, recoated with another generous layer of cooking oil.

I am sharing this post at the Hearth and Soul Blog Hop, Let’s Do Brunch, Domestically Divine, Traditional Tuesday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Gluten-Free Wednesday, What’s Cooking Wednesday, Simple Lives Thursday, It’s A Keeper Thursday, Frugal Food Thursday, Pennywise Platter Thursday, Friday Potluck, Frugal Friday, Foodie Friday, Food on Friday, Sugar-Free Sunday, and Simply Delish.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Chicken, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Paleo Egg Foo Yung

  1. Thanks for linking and sharing this with the Hearth and Soul hop!

  2. Alea Milham says:

    What a delicious way to use up leftovers! I love flexible recipes! My family loves Chinese food, but I rarely do take out. I am slowly adding to my repetoire of homemade Chinese dishes and look forward to trying this. Thanks for sharing your recipe with the Hearth and Soul Hop.

  3. I’m with you…I never tire of eggs, so any new ways to eat them makes me happy! Would love it if you would consider sharing this on Chowstalker too, and any of your other recipes!

    • elliemaeh says:

      Thanks for the invite! I love your site and have found some tasty recipes before, but I never thought to share my ideas there. I poked around and registered as a contributer. This recipe is already posted, and I will be adding more in the future.

  4. Thanks for contributing to the site, and I’m so glad you took me up on the invite!

  5. Adding a couple of tablespoons of soy sauce to the batter is good too.

    • elliemaeh says:

      We do not consume any soy products in our house for health reasons, but I bet that coconut aminos could be a tasty addition.

  6. This is a great idea. I always have a little bit of leftovers meat in the fridge and I’m never sure what to do with it.

  7. Chaya says:

    I grew up and this was my favorite dish of all. I have not had this for years though. I am thrilled you linked this up with Let’s Do Brunch because I am making this for dinner, hopefully, within the week.

  8. Pingback: In Defense of Lard | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  9. Your egg foo yung sounds delicious — I can’t wait to try it!

  10. Melanie says:

    That looks so great! Now I know what to with the cabbage in my fridge!

  11. Wonderful! I have all of these ingredients, I’ll be making this this weekend. :) Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  12. KB and Whitesnake says:

    Looks yummy.

    Thanks for sharing with
    Simply Delish Saturday

    Have a great weekend.

  13. jo says:

    Found your blog today through Chowstalker and really love it! Thanks especially for all the “eggy” recipes. I like the idea of using cabbage in this recipe instead of bean sprouts. DH has been asking me to make some egg foo yung, so I’m going to give this one a try.

    • elliemaeh says:

      So glad that you found me! Ever since my family and I started raising free-range chickens I have been an absolute egg addict – good to hear that somebody shares my tastes!

  14. LOL. .. I’m one of those people too – who could eat eggs everyday.. forever. Thanks for sharing this recipe at this week’s Sugar Free Sunday!

  15. Although I don’t follow a Paleo diet, I prefer cabbage to bean sprouts anyway! Your recipe sounds delicious, and what a great way to use up leftovers. Thank you for sharing it with Hearth and Soul, and also Let’s Do Brunch.

  16. Carrie says:

    This looks really delicious. I am always on the hunt for different breakfast/lunch ideas, and this is perfect. The shredded cabbage in there sounds great!

Leave a Reply

