Banana Nut Muffins

These were an amazingly successful experiment in my house – Nick finished the whole batch in less than 24 hours! They are a delicious, hearty muffin that can fill me up quite easily. (I had one to sample, which was plenty for me.) They are surprisingly like grain-based baked goods, although they are 100% paleo challenge approved – no grains, legumes, dairy, or added sweeteners. They are not quite as sugary as modern bakery goods, because the only sweetness comes from the bananas, but they would make a delicious, filling, and just-sweet-enough addition to the breakfast table – maybe along with some eggs or meat – or a satiating and portable mid-afternoon snack – maybe for those times when we all get stuck at work with no healthy food in sight.

3 cups almond meal
4 eggs
4 over-ripe bananas
¼ cup unsweetened applesauce (I used homemade applesauce that I canned last fall, which contained nothing but apples and cinnamon)
¼ cup coconut oil
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp ginger
½ cup coarsely chopped nuts

Preheat your oven to 350. Combine all ingredients except for the chopped nuts in your food processor and blend until smooth. Stir in the nuts. Place muffins liners into your pan and pour batter into the muffin liners, until about ¾ full. (This recipe made 16 muffins for me.) Bake for approximately 20 minutes, or until set in the middle. Allow to cool slightly. If I were not currently doing a paleo challenge, I would suggest eating them warm with a melting slab of grass-fed butter. But just serving them warm is pretty darn tasty, too.

I am sharing this post at Whole Health Weekend, Sugar Free Sunday, The Weekend Gourmet, Muffin Monday, Mangia Monday, Maff Monday, Monday Mania, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Tasty Tuesday at Beauty and Bedlam, Tasty Tuesday at 33 Shades of Green, Let’s Do Brunch, and Gluten-Free Wednesday.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes, Sweet Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Banana Nut Muffins

  1. Yummy! I love banana nut (specifically – walnut) muffins. Does the coconut oil add any flavor to it?

  2. Kathryn says:

    These are fabulous and definitely hearty! Thanks so much for linking them up at Muffin Monday!

  3. Sheryl says:

    YUM! What a GREAT recipe! Cast Party Wednesday starts tonight at 12:00 midnight. I would love it if you came over tomorrow and shared some recipes with us.
    Thanks,
    I hope to see you there!

    http://ladybehindthecurtain.com

  4. Sanghamitra says:

    What a great recipe! It looks so yummy. Thanks for sharing. Hope to see you on my blog:)

  5. These look great! I’ve just recently started cooking with almond flour, and I love it. Thanks for the recipe!

  6. This looks so delicious!

    Thank you for your submission on Nourishing Treasure’s Whole Health Weekend Link-Up.

    Check back tomorrow when the new link-up is running to see if you were one of the top 3 featured posts! :)

  7. Ranger Linda says:

    Because you wrote about using your own canned applesauce that was made with minimalist ingredients, I’m asking for advice, canning recipes, and tips. I apologize for the length of this reply.

    I am on a special diet with lots of food issues. I want to start canning so that I have some food set aside for ME because I cannot eat most purchased food. I bought a pressure canner and then found out that I cannot eat most of the foods prepared using the “official tested canning recipes” either.
    I was just going to set off on my own to make soups, stews, and this awesome unsweetened rosemary pear butter that I love (see http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Pear-and-Rosemary-Butter-108639). I talked to my fiesty 87 year old mother who has canned since childhood. Even she has never branched off using untested recipes.

    I found out through internet research and through talking with the canning “experts” at two different county extension offices that it’s risky to can using “untested” recipes. It’s possible to get botulism (which is deadly) when you eat home canned foods. Botulism spores are everywhere and they are heat resistant (aren’t killed by regular boiling). They produce the deadly toxins when they are subjected to anaerobic (without oxygen) conditions, temperatures above 38 degrees F, and a pH above 4.6. http://www.ext.colostate.edu/pubs/foodnut/09305.html.

    These conditions exist for the canned pear butter except PERHAPS the pH. Even processing the pear butter in the pressure canner doesn’t guarantee that it’s safe because I have no guidelines on how long it needs to be processed. I couldn’t go by the published information about pears because pear butter is thicker and it takes longer for thick substances to reach required temperatures to kill the spores. I couldn’t use published information for apple butter because the recipes listed use a considerable amount of apple cider which would make that product far more acidic than mine and thereby add a level of safety that I couldn’t duplicate.

    Some canned foods can be boiled for 10-20 minutes right before you eat them as the toxins (unlike the spores) can be killed this way. Pear butter, however, won’t be pear butter anymore if it is boiled like that.

    I’m left with several jars of what might be the greatest stuff on earth on one hand and just might kill me, on the other. I also want to can soups made with grassfed beef, stews using turnips instead of potatoes, and chilis without sugar, etc. All of the information on the internet is enough to make me afraid to eat anything! I tried to contact the University of Georgia (http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/) because they have the premier website on the subject but alas, their funding has been cut and they have no paid staff.
    Does anyone have experiences canning using recipes other than those tested by Ball and the University of Georgia? Has anyone tried their own thing?

  8. jgirl says:

    Very nice. I love that there are no added sweeteners ;)!

  9. jgirl says:

    Oops! Hit post a bit soon. We added some cranberries and a dash of vanilla bean. Something about bananas and vanilla with the almond…such a treat!

Leave a Reply

