Zucchini Boats Stuffed with Ground Beef

The garden is starting to give us some delicious produce! In addition to the early turnips, we now have lots of zucchini and tomatoes of all shapes and sizes that are ready for picking. I decided to get creative the other night, and rely almost exclusively on the farm’s bounty while cooking dinner; the egg came from our chickens, and even the ground beef in this recipe came from one of the family’s steers. The result – hearty, delicious, paleo-challenge-approved zucchini boats that made for a filling supper and lots of leftovers to back in lunches. You will need:

1 large zucchini
4-5 tomatoes, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
1 ½ lb ground beef
1 egg
3 cloves garlic
1 tsp each rosemary, sage, basil, oregano, and marjoram
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat your oven to 350. Slice your zucchini in half lengthwise and remove the seeds. (They make for great compost.) Then keep scraping zucchini guts (reserving them for later) until you have two nicely hollowed-out boats. Chop up your zucchini guts into bite-size pieces and then place in a large mixing bowl with all of your other ingredients. Blend until well-combined. Line a 9×13 pan with aluminum foil (makes clean-up a lot easier!), place your zucchini boats in it, and then start stuffing them with your meat mixture until they are overflowing. If you have some extra stuffing that does not quite fit, just place that extra meaty goodness in the pan next to your zucchini. Bake for approximately 50 minutes, or until the meat is cooked through and the zucchini is soft.

I served my zucchini boats with a simple turnip mash. I peeled and chopped a couple of turnips from the garden, boiled them until they were tender, and then blended with a hand blender. Drizzle in some olive oil, top with salt and pepper, and you have a delicious, healthy substitute for mashed potatoes.

I am sharing this recipe at Totally Tasty Tuesday, Domestically Divine, Tasty Tuesday, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Tasty Tuesday at Beauty and Bedlam, Works for Me Wednesday, Real Food Wednesday, What’s On Your Plate Wednesday, Healthy Today Wednesday, Foodie Wednesday, Cast Party Wednesday, Full Plate Thursday, Frugal Food Thursday, Cooking Thursday, It’s A Keeper Thursday, Food On Friday, Food Trip Friday, Friday Favorites, The Friday Blog Hop, Food Friday, The Ultimate Recipe Swap, Fresh Food Friday, Savory Sunday, These Chicks Cooked, and Delicious Dishes.

This entry was posted in Beef, Gardening, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Zucchini Boats Stuffed with Ground Beef

  1. A friend who is also a chef prepares squash boats out of many different types and sizes of squash. It sure does look great on the plate. Thanks!

  2. Kristin says:

    This looks really good. I love the use of the zucchini as a serving bowl.
    Holy Cannoli Recipes

  3. Pingback: Packing a Paleo Lunch | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  4. Eliie,
    I found you via the Healthy 2day Link up and wanted you to see a resource we’re putting together on Facebook to help like-minded blog carnival participants find each other and get notices when the carnivals go live:
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Healthy-Foods-Healthy-Lives-Blog-Carnivals/148426998572837

    Amanda

  5. These look so good! I’m going to try them out with turkey instead of beef :D
    -Rachel

  6. maiylah says:

    that looks delicious! …and more so, since you used your own produce! love it!

    thanks so much for linking to Food Friday!
    enjoy the rest of the week! :)

  7. Tetcha says:

    It must be really nice to prepare your dishes from your farm’s bounty. I sure would love to wake up in a farm full of fresh produce, and I would definitely do the harvesting. Your zucchinin with ground beef looks delicious! I hope you can visit my FTF entry, too. Thanks! http://www.delightmyappetite.com/2011/08/food-trip-friday-bonchon-chicken/

  8. imriz says:

    fresh produce, very healthy, indeed.

  9. diarysahm says:

    Oh my gosh, not only do I love zucchini but ground beef??? YUM!

  10. You’re lucky to have your own vegetables garden!

  11. mashme says:

    A twist to the Filipino dish, eggplant stuffed with ground beef :) Looks yummy!

    The Twerp and I

  12. Miz Helen says:

    We really enjoy a good stuffed Zucchini and your recipe looks great. I love the combination of flavor that you put together. Hope you are going to have a wonderful week end and thanks for sharing with Full Plate Thursday!
    Miz Helen

  13. Luna Miranda says:

    your zucchini boat looks delicious. and the turnip mash sounds interesting–didn’t know turnips can be prepared this way.

  14. Alea Milham says:

    Your zucchini boats look fantastic! I will be putting this idea to use soon. Thanks for linking up to Feed Me Tweet Me. By the way, are you on twitter or a facebook page? I was looking yesterday so The Hearth and Soul Hop could follow you and I couldn’t find any buttons, but I am following your rss. :)

    • elliemaeh says:

      Hey there, and thanks for following me on rss! I am not on facebook or twitter – believe it or not, I am not that technologically inclined, and starting a blog was a huge step for me!

  15. mymy says:

    healthy and yummy!
    thanks for sharing your recipe…just might do something similar. :)

  16. Rcel says:

    Wow! This is such an interesting recipe. My first time. Looking at your photos make me want to make some soon since I got zucchinis here fresh from my friend’s MIL’s garden! Thanks for sharing! :)

    Want a bite of my Choco-topped Shakoy? Lol. Have a great weekend!

  17. Bibi says:

    Now, I am pretty sure this is the way to get my kids eat their zucchini….love the recipe.

    Thank you so much for sharing this at Foodie Wednesday. hope to see you there this week as well.

  18. Emily says:

    We just tried this recipe and it was SUPERB! Kudos from the hubby and kiddo too. That’s a big deal around here. =) I added some carrots to the mix and topped them with a little Parmesan just for fun. THANKS!

    • elliemaeh says:

      Yum – the carrots sound like a tasty and colorful addition. Maybe next year I will have to try growing some in the garden! So glad that I found something your family enjoyed!

  19. Sheryl says:

    Thank You for sharing your recipe with us at Cast Party Wednesday! Your recipe is being featured tomorrow! Please stop by add more of your delicious recipes and grab a featured button!
    Thanks,
    I hope to see you there!

  20. Pingback: Cast Party Wednesday Link Party #10 | Lady Behind the Curtain

  21. Sadly I’m not getting many zucchini from my garden this year. The weather has been so odd here in England my crop is suffering. Luckily I have an organic source that has had better luck growing them than I have! I really like your recipe, it’s the kind of thing my family will love. Thank you for sharing it with the blog hop. I hope that you will visit again today – Alea and I are announcing some exciting new developments with the hop.

  22. Pingback: 4-Ingredient Savory Paleo Zucchini Muffins | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  23. Amy says:

    I know what I’m going to make for dinner tomorrow. :)

Leave a Reply

