Dairy-Free Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream

Last week I experimented with a pumpkin pie smoothie, and I so enjoyed that little taste of fall that I decided to incorporate a pumpkin pie ice cream into this week’s series of ice cream recipes. This recipe is oh-so-creamy and satisfying, and captures the deliciousness of pumpkin pie, minus the oft-accompanying excessive sweetness.

1 cup coconut milk
1 cup steamed mashed pumpkin
1/3 cup honey
2 egg yolks
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp each nutmeg, ginger, cloves

Combine all of your ingredients into a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Pour into your ice cream maker and prepare according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Store in the freezer for a few hours if you would like a more solid consistency. Dish yourself up a heaping serving, then enjoy the subtle sweetness of pumpkin and the delicious interplay of spices.

I am sharing this recipe at Pennywise Platter Thursday, Cooking Thursday, Simple Lives Thursday, Sweet Treats Thursday, Food Friday, Friday Favorites, Fresh Food Friday, Fat Camp Friday, Friday Potluck, Foodie Friday, and Food Trip Friday.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Sweet Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dairy-Free Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream

  1. Brenda Scott says:

    I came here from Pennywise Platter. Thanks for sharing! I love your recipes. We’re on GAPS, so your recipes work for us! (And we just got an ice cream maker for ourselves for our anniversary, so we’re on the lookout for GAPS legal recipes now!) Thank you! :)

    • elliemaeh says:

      I just acquired an ice cream maker this spring, and I think it is my new favorite kitchen gadget! I am glad that I can provide you with some ice cream inspiration.

  2. Abby says:

    Great recipe idea. It seems like coconut milk would be a perfect compliment to pumpkin!

  3. maiylah says:

    love the recipe! i can just imagine the different tastes when they all come together! …makes me wish i have an ice cream maker!

    thanks so much for linking to Food Friday! :)

  4. Kim, USA says:

    Oh wow homemade this is yummy!!

    Sun Tea

  5. This sounds SO good – alas I don’t have an ice cream maker. Have you any suggestions on how I would go about making this otherwise?
    Caitlyn

  6. Miranda says:

    I have made pumpkin pie ice cream and coconut milk is such a new twist on it! Thank you so much for joining Fat Camp Friday! See you next week!

  7. KB and Whitesnake says:

    Looks delish.

    We’d love you to share your recipes with us at
    Simply Delish Saturday

  8. Pingback: Too Hot To Cook Recipe Listing |

  9. PrimalMama says:

    Holy cow! I’m dying to make this, but can’t do honey or anything with sugar – I’ll be using stevia as a sweetener, but what else should I add in to replace the volume and possible binding effect of honey?

    Your recipes are to die for, by the way! Salivating like crazy here!

    • elliemaeh says:

      Hmm, I do not cook with stevia, so this is going to be a shot in the dark for me. I might use a twinge more coconut milk, and if you want to be sure that the ice cream is nice and thick and creamy I would suggest draining off some of the water from your can of coconut milk and using just the creamier part. It might be a slightlier ‘nuttier’ taste, but I imagine it could work quite well.

  10. Kendra says:

    THis was super yummy and so easy. Perfect fall dessert!

Leave a Reply

