Nutty Monkey Smoothie

Also known as the healthy fat smoothie, this one has great potential to fill you up and energize you all morning. I paired it with two soft-boiled eggs for a perfect breakfast that kept me satisfied for hours. (No small feat, considering my pregnancy appetite!) It is also a very kid-friendly smoothie, with a great slightly sweet taste, and bright, attractive color. As I was looking at my glass this morning, I was struck by how my smoothie was even more brightly colored than a cup of jell-o fake-food banana pudding, with all of its artificial colors. The orange of the pastured egg yolk is so much more vibrant. Real food beats fake food-like products again!

1 frozen chopped banana
1 egg yolk
2 tbsp almond butter
Enough coconut milk and water to achieve your desired consistency
(I used about 1/3 cup of each.)

Place all the ingredients in your blender, blend until smooth, pour into a glass, and enjoy a bright and sunny nourishing breakfast! And if you have not already, check out all the other posts in my week of smoothie recipes!

I am sharing this recipe at Gluten-Free Wednesday, Healthy Today Wednesday, Real Food Wednesday, What’s On The Menu Wednesday, What’s On Your Plate Wednesday, Cast Party Wednesday, Foodie Wednesday, Friday Favorites, Fat Camp Friday, Foodie Friday, These Chicks Cooked, Recipes I Can’t Wait To Try, Simply Delish, Friday Potluck, Sugar-Free Sunday, and Let’s Do Brunch.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes, Sweet Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Nutty Monkey Smoothie

  1. simply heidi says:

    I posted a smoothie recipe today too. I’ve never thought of adding egg, but I bet that would be really satisfying. Yum!

  2. That does sound yummy and I love the name. Very cute! Come over and visit us. We have two wonderful healthy recipes this week. Grilled squash and tomorrow we will have a great sorbet recipe. Very easy!

  3. I wonder if it would work with an egg substitute??? Michaela can’t have eggs :(

    • elliemaeh says:

      It works just fine without the yolk, but if you wanted to add in another fat source, some ground flax and a bit of water might do the trick – I am not personally a fan of commercial egg replacer. The omega-3s in flax are not as readily available for human absorption as they would be with an egg yolk, but I still think it is a darn good option. I would be so very sad if I could not have eggs :(

  4. KB and Whitesnake says:

    Looks easy and delish.

    Thanks for sharing with us at
    Simply Delish Saturday

  5. Shaheen says:

    This sounds lovley, I would not have thought of adding an egg yolk to the mix though – must make it creamy.

  6. Miranda says:

    That sounds super healthy and good! Thanks for sharing with Fat Camp Friday, see you next time!

  7. Bibi says:

    That sounds delicious….I just recently started using almond milk in our smoothies and protein shakes so I can’t wait to try this.

    Thank you so much for sharing it at Foodie Wednesday and hope to see you there this week as well.

  8. I have never thought to add an egg (like everyone else who commented, lol) A good way to add protein & fat! Thanks for linking up at Healthy 2day Wednesdasy! Hope to see you add a post this week!

  9. Linda says:

    Yum! I love the combination of almond and banana. I tend to only use coconut milk in ice cream and almond milk in smoothies. I bet either would work well for this recipe. Thanks linking up!

  10. Sheryl says:

    Thank You So MUCH for joining me last week for Cast Party Wednesday. I hope you will come back tomorrow and share more of your recipes with us.
    Thanks,
    I hope to see you there!

  11. Pingback: Too Hot To Cook Recipe Listing |

  12. Hello! I found you through At Home With Haley’s Blog Hop.
    Lovin’ your Nutty Monkey Smoothie recipe! Have a great day! Sherri

    http://www.FoodBasics101.com

    Facebook- http://tinyurl.com/FoodBasics101

Leave a Reply

