Rich and Creamy Dark Chocolate Smoothie, and Smoothie Week Begins!

If you have not noticed, I have been on a bit of a banana binge lately. I used them in my almond butter banana cake a long while back, but then almost forgot about them until recently. They are tasty little devils, and so very versatile. I love how inexpensive bananas are, and how even the conventionally grown ones are low in pesticides. (The thick outer skin protects the fruit from most of the spray, so bananas are one of the safest fruits to buy non-organic.) I also love the way that I can incorporate them into various recipes, from pancakes to ice cream. (I have been into frozen foods lately, too – blame the weather and my increasing girth, which makes it increasingly difficult to cool down.) I have taken to chopping bananas into four or five chunks and freezing them, so that they are ready to toss into a cold and refreshing smoothie.

I am loving the cool refreshment of smoothies so much lately that I am going to dedicate an entire week to smoothie recipes. The deep dark chocolate creation that I am sharing today is one of my favorites. It is full of healthy fat from the avocado and coconut milk, antioxidants from the cocoa powder, and incredible nutrition from the egg yolk. It is also very low in sweeteners. I suggest two teaspoons of honey in this recipe, but if you have a good, sweet, over-ripe banana, you could skip the honey altogether – I sometimes do. The result is a creamy and decadent dark chocolate treat that is great for cooling down on a summer day. And unlike conventional ice cream treats, it will not leave you with a sugar crash.

1 banana, chopped in chunks and frozen
½ avocado
1 egg yolk
2 tbsp cocoa powder
2 tsp honey
3/4 cup coconut milk or unsweetened almond milk

Simply add the ingredients into your blender in the above order and blend until smooth.

I am sharing this recipe at Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Mangia Monday, Mouthwatering Monday, Menu Monday, Tasty Tuesday, Delectable Tuesday, Traditional Tuesday, Made From Scratch Tuesday, Tuesdays at the Table, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Totally Tasty Tuesday, Tasty Tuesday at 33 Shades of Green, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Tasty Tuesday Party, Sweet Tooth Friday, Foodie Friday, and the Hearth and Soul Blog Hop.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes, Sweet Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Rich and Creamy Dark Chocolate Smoothie, and Smoothie Week Begins!

  1. I love the list of ingredients for this smoothie. Delicious. Cannot wait to give it a try. Come over and visit us. We have a wonderful grilled squash recipe.

  2. Pingback: Nutty Monkey Smoothie | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  3. Pingback: Rich Rich » Rich and Creamy Dark Chocolate Smoothie, and Smoothie Week Begins …

  4. Your smoothie sounds great. I never would’ve thought of adding avocado. We’ve been on a smoothie kick around here lately :) Every week I host a recipe spotlight where foodies come and show off their recipes from the weekend I’d love for you to come on over and share a recipe or 2. Have a blessed day.
    Katie

  5. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Smoothie | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  6. Pingback: Strawberry Cheesecake Fro-Yo, and Welcome to Ice Cream Week | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  7. Stacy says:

    Thanks for stopping by and linking up to last weeks Menu Mondays! I’d like to invite you to come and share a recipe on this weeks recipe link up: http://myfaithandfamily.wordpress.com/2011/08/01/menu-mondays-creamy-crockpot-red-potatoes/

  8. Alea Milham says:

    I love how you worked banana and avocado into this dessert! Your recipe looks delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe with the Hearth and Soul Hop.

  9. Pingback: Too Hot To Cook Recipe Listing |

Leave a Reply

