Paleo Pancakes with Coconut Flour

I used to love eating pancakes – the grain-based kind, preferably with chocolate chips in the batter, and lots of maple syrup for topping. I still am a fan of pancakes, although now I stick to paleo ingredients. Maybe I enjoy them so much because they are a childhood comfort food. From a nutritional standpoint, they are very effective egg carriers, especially for those seeking some variety at the breakfast table. So for the rest of this week I will be posting some of my favorite grain-free pancake recipes – be sure to stop by for some more morning inspiration!

I love how bright these pancakes are – the same color as my canary yellow tablecloth. And it is not because of artificial colors, but rather healthy, pastured egg yolks. These are delicious with fresh berries, honey, maple syrup, whipped cream, coconut cream, or any combination of the above. This recipe makes four large (6 inches) and filling pancakes. I will eat one as a side to my two-egg breakfast and feel completely satisfied.

4 eggs
¼ cup coconut flour
¼ cup yogurt (if you do cultured dairy) or coconut milk, or coconut milk kefir
(the tang of cultured foods adds a wonderful dimension to these pancakes)
1 tbsp honey
Dash salt
Oil for frying (I prefer coconut)

Combine all ingredients, whisking well to get rid of all lumps, heat up a skillet or griddle, melt your oil, and spread the batter into the shape you desire. It will be thicker than the average, glutenous pancake batter, so you will have to actively shape your cakes. Cook until golden brown, flip, and leave on the griddle until cooked through. Serve up with whatever toppings you prefer.

I am sharing this recipe at The Weekend Gourmet, Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Menu Monday, Mangia Monday, Mouthwatering Monday, Monday Mania, Tasty Tuesday, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Tuesdays at the Table, Tuesday’s Tasty Tidbits, Made From Scratch Tuesday, Totally Tasty Tuesday, Traditional Tuesday, Delectable Tuesday, Delicious Dishes, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Allergy-Friendly Friday, Let’s Do Brunch, Seasonal Sunday, Primal Cave, and the Hearth and Soul Blog Hop.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Paleo Pancakes with Coconut Flour

  1. Ryan says:

    Thanks for this. Going to try it out tonight! Do you have any tips for making coconut flour bind? I tried to make a tortilla wrap but it just broke apart.

  2. Great looking pancakes and I know my grand children would love them. I have not bought any coconut flour but these are the second pancakes on my Tuesday’s Tasty Tidbits this week using coconut flour. Guess I will try some.

    • elliemaeh says:

      It is a wonderful substitute for grains – a lot higher nutrient density, no gut irritants, and a great flavor. I was hooked when I started baking with coconut flour a few years ago.

  3. Elsa says:

    Hello! I am visting from Hearth and Soul. I love your blog, especially with the Paleo diet focus. l also have that book, and even though I do not really follow it, I believe that it works. I am going to email your blog to my Paleo Diet friends, they will love this as well. And I am also a supporter of attachment parenting, baby wearing, co-sleeping and all that fun stuff. :) Love your blog!!

    • elliemaeh says:

      Thank you so much for sharing with your friends! The paleo diet book was great, and I love reading about all of the science behind it. Glad to meet (albeit only on the blogoshpere) another attachment-parenting supporter!

  4. Swathi says:

    I use coconut a lot in my cooking, but not yet tried coconut flour, sure the pancake taste great. Thanks for sharing with Hearth and soul bop.

  5. Pingback: Sweet Tater Cakes | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  6. Kristin says:

    This looks delicious! We don’t coconut flour out here but if we did I would definitely make these this weekend.
    Holy Cannoli Recipes

  7. Brittany says:

    These look wonderful! I tried to make coconut pancakes a few weeks ago and they were a giant mess (hardly edible) Will give these a try. Thanks for sharing them at Seasonal Sunday too!
    xo- Brittany

  8. These sound delicious! What a wonderful grain free option. Thank you for sharing them with Let’s Do Brunch. They are one of my featured recipes this week!

    • elliemaeh says:

      Thank you so much for featuring me! I am glad to be back again this week at Let’s Do Brunch, this time with a smoothie recipe.

  9. Pingback: Seasonal Sunday (06-31-11) | Real Sustenance

  10. Angelfeathers says:

    I made these for breakfast yesterday (and had the rest today, microwaved) and they were really like proper pancakes. Yummy! Thank you for the recipe – I think it’s one I’ll be using a lot!

Leave a Reply

