Egg (Anti-Mc)Muffins

In spite of containing mainly eggs and no grains whatsoever, these guys really do resemble muffins, with their surprisingly bread-like consistency, although they are much tastier, healthier, and more filling than bread. (They are not at all eggy in texture, as the coconut flour soaks up a lot of that moisture.) In my estimation bread’s main utility is as a butter carrier, so I ate my muffins hot with delicious slabs of melting grass-fed butter. I added a few berries and some coconut milk kefir and had a well-rounded and filling breakfast. These muffins are also highly transportable; they are one of my new favorite things to pack in Nick’s lunches. They would also make a great alternative ‘bun,’ if you have a hankering for a sandwich. Maybe a cheese and sausage anti-McMuffin?

12 eggs
2 tsp salt
2 tsp pepper
1 tsp celery salt
1 scant cup coconut flour
1 onion, chopped
1 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes
1 10oz package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and water squeezed out (this is a more economical version that I prefer – if you have fresh spinach on hand, however, just lightly wilt it, chop, and toss it in)

Preheat your oven to 400. Thoroughly blend your eggs, seasonings, and coconut flour. (I used a hand mixer. Fold in the onion, tomatoes, and spinach. Plop your batter by large spoonfuls onto greased baking sheets and form into English muffin shapes. Bake for 15 minutes. My recipe made 18 generously-sized muffins.

I am sharing this recipe at the Weekend Gourmet, Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Mangia Monday, Monday Mania, Menu Monday, Muffin Monday, Traditional Tuesday, Let’s Do Brunch, Healthy Today Wednesday, These Chicks Cooked Link Party, Cast Party Wednesday, Gluten-Free Wednesday, Food Friday, and Fight Back Friday.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Egg (Anti-Mc)Muffins

  1. Kathryn says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your delicious and healthy muffin recipe at Muffin Monday! Have a great week and hope to see you again soon!

  2. Stacy says:

    If you have a chance, I’d love to have you come by and post this on today’s Menu Mondays recipe link up! http://myfaithandfamily.wordpress.com/2011/07/11/menu-mondays-raspberry-lemon-shortbread-bars/

  3. These look really good. :-)

  4. Kelsey says:

    These look yummy! I’m not a huge coconut flour fan (it always seems to heavy for me..) but I’m going to try these! I need to make some more homemade breakfast sausage, and these would be so yummy with that! Thanks!

    • elliemaeh says:

      It definitely has a different texture – tends to dry baked goods out a bit more. But with jumbo eggs and butter, I think that these strike a nice balance. Add some sausage and it should be a delicious breakfast.

  5. hartkeonline says:

    Thanks for submitting this recipe to my Weekend Gourmet blog carnival. I want to try this, as I have coconut flour but not using it too much. Also, I am tired of making eggs the same old ways!

    Thanks again!
    Kimberly

    http://hartkeisonline.com

  6. I found you from the Muffin Monday Linky. I was lured into your recipe because your title–I’m always on the look-out for healthy recipes for my family. I’d love for you to share this recipe over at Momtrends Friday Food Linky:

    http://www.momtrends.com/2011/07/tips-for-the-perfect-burger/

    Hope you can stop by!

  7. Stacy says:

    Thanks for linking up at Menu Mondays last week! I’d love to have you come share some more of your recipes today: http://myfaithandfamily.wordpress.com/2011/07/18/menu-mondays-mini-cherry-cheesecakes/

  8. Yum! I am adding this to my recipe box! Thanks for sharing with Healthy 2day Wednesdays! Hope you’ll participate this week!

  9. These muffins sound so delicious, and so healthy too. The sun dried tomatoes and spinach would give them such a great flavour. What a fantastic, nutrient packed treat! Thank you for sharing them with Let’s Do Brunch.

  10. These are fascinating muffins. After all, I never had an anti – Mc Muffin before. I plan to have one, some time, in the future, hopefully, the near future. This is my kind of breakfast which is one reason, this will be featured tomorrow at April @ The 21st Century Housewife and at My Sweet and Savory, Let’s Do Brunch.
    Please stop by and admire your handiwork and bring food for next week’s brunch/

    • elliemaeh says:

      Thank you so much for featuring me! Your post did not, in fact, disappear. I am very glad that I was able to come up with a recipe you might enjoy, and I will certainly be back again this week with another brunch dish!

  11. I wrote a book to you but it seems to have disappeared. Forgive me for not rewriting it. I do want to tell you that you are being featured, tomorrow on Let’s Do Brunch.

    I love the idea of anti Mc Muffin.

Leave a Reply

