Honey Barbecue Pork Spare Ribs in the Crock Pot

I love barbecue, especially in the hot summer months, but most bottled barbecue sauces list HFCS as their first ingredient and contain soybean oil, hydrolyzed soy protein, artificial flavorings, and multiple artificial colors – not the sorts of things I would ever want to put into my body, or my baby’s body via the umbilical cord. This was my first attempt at designing a homemade paleo barbecue sauce, and it was a rousing success. It was thick, rich, spicy, naturally flavorful and colorful, and had just the right amount of sweetness. It would be tasty on a whole variety of cuts of meat, prepared in a whole variety of different fashions. I happened to have some pork spare ribs sitting in the fridge on this particular day, so they got the barbecue treatment. And since I did not feel like firing up the oven on a hot summer day, I made use of my slow cooker. . . which was also nice in terms of convenience, as it let me get out of the house and get work done during the day while supper was cooking.

Barbecue Sauce:
Cooking oil of your choice
1 cup minced fresh onion
1 teaspoon sea salt
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp dry mustard
1 tsp dried basil
1 tsp dried oregano
½ tsp cayenne
1 cup tomato paste
1 ½ cups homemade chicken broth
2 tablespoons raw apple cider vinegar
2 tablespoons honey

3-4lbs pork spare ribs
Salt and pepper to taste

Heat oil and onions in a large saucepan over medium heat. Stir until tender, about 10 to 15 minutes. Add herbs and spices, stir, then add remaining ingredients and whisk until smooth. Bring to a low boil. Salt and pepper your spare ribs and arrange in your crock pot. Pour the sauce evenly over the meat and cook on low for approximately eight hours, until the meat is tender and beginning to fall apart. I served my ribs with some roasted asparagus from the farmer’s market, which made a colorful, appealing, light accompaniment.

I am sharing this recipe at Frugal Food Thursday, Full Plate Thursday, Pennywise Platter Thursday, Simple Lives Thursday, It’s A Keeper Thursday, Frugal Friday, Foodie Friday, Fat Camp Friday, Fresh Food Friday, Friday Favorites, Foodie Friday, Fresh Bites Friday, Fight Back Friday, Food Trip Friday, Friday Potluck, Feed Me, Tweet Me, Follow Me Home Friday, Monday Mania, and Hunk of Meat Monday.

This entry was posted in Pork, Recipes, Slow Cooker. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Honey Barbecue Pork Spare Ribs in the Crock Pot

  1. Jumped over from Helen’s this sounds and looks yummy … thanks for sharing and have a wonderful day!

  2. imriz2 says:

    too tempting to resist:)

  3. cheerful says:

    visiting you from FTF, looks like a complete meal to enjoy! thanks for sharing your recipe, sounds really delicious! happy Friday! :)

  4. This sounds really good. I’ve been looking for a healthy BBQ recipe. I think I will try this over the weekend. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Miz Helen says:

    What a great pot of goodness at the end of a busy day. This is a great recipe! Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and I look forward to seeing you again real soon.
    Have a great week end!
    Miz Helen

  6. Oh yum! I’m really hungry now! :) Thanks for sharing the recipe dear! Have a great weekend. :)

    Doing my hop from this week’s FTF! Here’s mine:

    Breakfast for Dinner at The Food Encounters.

  7. Genevieve says:

    Yum! I was just thinking about making ribs :)

  8. April Harris says:

    These look wonderful and sound delish! Plus so much healthier than commercial sauces. Thank you for sharing another lovely recipe with Feed me Tweet me. I would love for you to be this week’s featured blogger. Please can you send me a photo and any info about your blog you would like me to include? My email is apri@21stcenturyhousewife.com

  9. Totally impressed with your ability to make a homemade BBQ sauce. I must admit, I don’t give a second thought to the HFCS, soybean oil and some of the other ingredients in our favorite Baby Rays BBQ. Thanks for linking up to Hunk of Meat Monday!

  10. Pingback: A GAPS legal 4th of July | The Well Fed Homestead

  11. Genevieve says:

    I’m making this for the second time tonight with beef fingers and short ribs (first time was with just pork ribs). The sauce it seriously delish and addicting, thanks for sharing!

    • elliemaeh says:

      Glad it was such a success! Short ribs are my husband’s favorite, so I bet that dish would go over really well in our house. Thanks for the idea!

  12. Pingback: Barbecue Pulled . . . Chicken? Oh, yes! | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  13. Pingback: Too Hot To Cook Recipe Listing |

  14. I’m making these for the second time today. We really enjoyed this recipe!

  15. Pingback: Honey Barbecue Pork Spare Ribs in the Crock Pot « Crossfit Rebels

  16. Pingback: A GAPS legal 4th of July | The Well Fed Homestead

  17. Pingback: Summer Meal Plan | Choosing Inexpressible Joy

Leave a Reply

