Individual Rhubarb Crisps

I have been getting creative lately in order to use up our bumper crop of rhubarb, making large batches of salsa, chutney to serve over my pork at dinner, and even rhubarb ice cream. I recently decided that I ought also to try my hand at making good old-fashioned rhubarb crisp – but free of grains and refined sugars, of course. I relied mainly on the natural sweetness of strawberries to balance out the tartness of my rhubarb, and added only a small bit of honey – from bees that live on the farm right down the road from us. (And let me tell you, that honey tastes better than anything I have ever found in any store.) I made this recipe for two, but it is very simple to halve, double, or triple, depending on the size of the crowd you will be feeding – I love the ease of serving that comes with individual ramekins.

1 cup rhubarb, chopped
2 tbsp honey
1 tbsp water
1 cup strawberries, sliced (previously frozen works fine, if this year’s strawberry crop is not quite ripe for the picking)
Arrowroot powder to thicken
¼ cup coconut flour
2 tbsp grass-fed butter
2 tbsp chopped nuts (I opted for pecans, which added a nice sweetness)
1 tbsp honey

Preheat your oven to 350. Place your sliced rhubarb, honey, and water into a saucepan and cook until the rhubarb is fork-tender. Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the strawberries. At this point you will want to thicken the juices by adding arrowroot. Add a little bit at a time, stirring between each addition, until you achieve your desired consistency. Place your fruit mixture into your greased ramekins. In a separate bowl, cut the butter into the coconut flour until it reaches a crumbly consistency. Stir in the nuts and honey, and sprinkle evenly over your fruit. Bake your crisps for about twenty minutes, or until the fruit mixture is hot and bubbly and the crust is nicely browned.

I am sharing this recipe at Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, What’s On The Menu Wednesday, Works For Me Wednesday, What’s On Your Plate, Healthy Today Wednesday, Foodie Wednesday, Real Food Wednesday, Gluten-Free Wednesday, Frugal Food Thursday, Full Plate Thursday, and Let’s Do Brunch at the 21st Century Housewife.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Sweet Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Individual Rhubarb Crisps

  1. WholeNewMom says:

    We just made some rhubarb crumbles that turned out “OK” so I thought I’d check out your recipe.

    If you like, you may wish to stop by our blog hop and share there as well. Your eating / cooking philosophy is the same as ours: http://wholenewmom.com/traditional-tuesday/traditional-tuesdays-nutritious-and-delicious-june-14-2011/

    • elliemaeh says:

      It does seem that we have some points in common! I just linked up another recent rhubarb recipe. Thanks for the invite!

  2. Bibi says:

    I love baking with rhubarb. Thank you for sharing this great recipe. I hope you can come and share your recipe at Foodie Wednesday…..http://www.dailyorganizedchaos.com/mozzarella-bruschetta/

  3. Chaya says:

    This is a great rhubarb and strawberry dessert, The coconut flour and pecans sold me. Thanks for linking this to Let’s Do Brunch.

  4. If I want to send SO to heaven, I better start learning how to make this desert.

  5. Jill says:

    Crisps are one of my favorite desserts and this one looks great! I have never tried rhubarb. Some day I really need to, this recipe may lead me there!

  6. Miz Helen says:

    We will just love the individual Rhubarb Crisps. They look so delicious, great recipe. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope to see you next week!
    Miz Helen

  7. I still haven’t tried any rhubarb, where should I get some? All of your rhubarb recipes look so yummy! Thanks for linking up with Healthy 2day Wednesdays last week, this weeks link up is now open.

    • elliemaeh says:

      I am sure that there would be an overflow at farmers’ markets when it comes into season in May. At least at my garden, the harvest is now starting to wane.

  8. I love individual desserts. I think they look wonderful, and there is something so special about having a little dish all to yourself! Your rhubarb crisps sound fantastic, the perfect summer dessert. Thank you for sharing them with Let’s Do Brunch. Hope to ‘see’ you there again this week!

Leave a Reply

