Rhubarb Chutney Over Grilled Pork Chops

The rhubarb harvest continues! We have an enormous crop this year, and I am thoroughly enjoying the bounty. There are only about five rhubarb plants growing out at the family farm, but they are enormous, taking up a huge chunk of the yard. I call them the Franken-rhubarb. They were only transplanted a year ago, but some mystical force is causing them to grow to epic proportions . . . maybe all of the chicken manure fertilizer. So I have been making double and triple batches of rhubarb salsa, and today I decided to integrate some rhubarb into the main course of our dinner via a chutney. It provided a lovely light, sweet-tart, and fruity compliment to grilled pork chops, although it could pair well with whatever other cut of meat you happen to have on hand. I used pork chops from the butcher’s shop just outside of our hometown. Remember when my lucky husband got a half of a pig for his birthday? The chops were some of the last bits of that pig. Maybe someday we will branch out and raise our own pork, but for now, this meat is really tasty.

Coconut oil
1 medium onion, chopped
1 lb rhubarb, chopped
½ cup raisins
¼ cup honey
2 tsp ginger
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp sherry vinegar

Heat a saucepan over medium heat. Add your coconut oil and onion and cook until softened. Add the remaining ingredients, excepting the vinegar, and cook, stirring occasionally, until the rhubarb begins to break down. Remove from heat and stir in vinegar. Serve over pork, or whatever other meat you choose.

I am sharing this recipe at Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Domestically Divine, Traditional Tuesdays, Let’s Do Brunch at the 21st Century Housewife, Grain-Free Tuesday at Helladelicious, Real Food Wednesday, Healthy Today Wednesday, What’s on Your Plate Wednesday, Works for Me Wednesday, Gluten-Free Wednesday, Simple Lives Thursday, It’s A Keeper Thursday, Frugal Food Thursday, Pennywise Platter Thursday, Frugal Friday, Fresh Food Friday, the Grocery Cart Challenge Recipe Swap, Seasonal Sunday, Hunk of Meat Monday, and the Community Cooking Challenge hosted by Community Cucina.

This entry was posted in Pork, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rhubarb Chutney Over Grilled Pork Chops

  1. Kat says:

    Looks yummy!

    Also nice over porkchops…pan sauce of chopped dried apricots, garlic, fresh rosemary, and some white wine.

  2. Rachel says:

    I think your telling me something here, lol. I need to try rhubarb, I still haven’t made/tried the rhubarb salsa. Thanks for linking up with Healthy 2day Wednesdays again! I hope you are learning something for the others who are participating also, I know I am!

  3. So jealous of your rhubarb crop! I didn’t get mine planted and did the pick and pay. Since it is the end of the season, I’m going to have to go to the store to get more, which I was hoping not to do. I really want to can my chutney plus I want to can some pie filling.

  4. Pingback: Individual Rhubarb Crisps | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  5. hellaD says:

    Ohh! Tasty. Gonna try this next time we have pork chops. Yum.

  6. This sounds like a wonderful recipe – what a delicious chutney! I’m very envious of all your lovely rhubarb – you sure are making some lovely recipes with it too! I’ve chosen this as one of the featured recipes on Let’s Do Brunch this week :) Thank you so much for sharing it with us.

  7. Pingback: Seasonal Sunday (06-19-11) | Real Sustenance

  8. Pingback: Community Cooking Challenge Week Four |

Leave a Reply

