Rhubarb Salsa

Rhubarb, like asparagus, is one of those wonderful signs that spring has finally arrived here in Wisconsin. The rhubarb plants at the farm have been going gangbusters, and I have already harvested stalks a couple of times. Here is one of my creations that makes good use of spring’s bounty. This tart and spicy green salsa is a nice change of pace from the traditional tomato-based varieties.

1lb rhubarb stalks
1 bell pepper, cut in half
1 onion, quartered
4 jalapeno peppers, cut in half
6 cloves garlic, whole and unpeeled
Salt and pepper to taste
¼ cup honey
1 tbsp lime juice

Organize your rhubarb stalks, bell pepper, jalapenos, onion, and garlic on a lined (trust my experience- makes it much easier!) baking sheet in a single layer. Set your oven to broil and place the pan on the top shelf. After about five or six minutes, check on your rhubarb. You want it to be fork-tender but not mushy. When it reaches this point, pull it out. Your jalapenos should be done about this time as well; you are looking for a nicely blistered skin. The bell pepper, garlic, and onions take a bit longer to cook, so flip them over (so that they cook evenly) and put them back in the oven for another five minutes or so. You want them to be nicely softened and the skins charred.

Allow everything to cool, remove the charred skin from your onion, garlic, and peppers, and chop everything into salsa-sized pieces. Mix it all up in a large bowl, add your lime juice and honey, then season to taste. I store my salsa in mason jars. This is what they look like full, although the contents are quickly disappearing! This is how Nick enjoyed some salsa for breakfast: with two eggs fried in lard and two hamburger patties.

I am sharing this recipe at Seasonal Sunday, Monday Mania at the Healthy Home Economist, and Works For Me Wednesday.

This entry was posted in Condiments, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rhubarb Salsa

  1. Candace says:

    I have never even thought of making rhubarb salsa before. What a fabulous idea! Rhubarb is something new to me and while I love it in dessert, I think I would love it in something savory even more. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

    Have a beautiful day,
    Candace

  2. What a nice idea. We’ll be making rhubarb and apple chutney this week. It’s that time of the year to do fun things with rhubarb. I bet this would be awesome of fish tacos.

  3. Rachel says:

    Interesting. I have actually never had any kind of rhubarb ever, so this recipe might be a good way to try it. BTW, I started a new link up for sharing healthy ideas, recipes, eco-living tips, how to’s, etc and I’d like to invite you to participate, you could add this post or something else. Help spread the word of natural, safe living. Have a great week!

  4. hellaD says:

    Oh what a great idea! I love your recipes. I really love how you are not shy with the spices! I’m gonna have to try this one!

    • elliemaeh says:

      Thank you! And thank my spice-loving Hawaiian-raised husband, who encouraged me to branch out from my rather bland Midwestern culinary roots!

  5. Pingback: Seasonal Sunday (6-05-11) | Real Sustenance

  6. Pingback: Rhubarb Chutney Over Grilled Pork Chops | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  7. Pingback: Individual Rhubarb Crisps | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  8. I’ve really been enjoying following your recipes, and I especially like the seasonal ones. I’m going to be making this tonight. I’ve put you on my favorite recipes list – I hope you don’t mind: http://www.foodfarmhealth.ca. Take care. –Shanon

  9. elliemaeh says:

    Thank you so much for your support!

Leave a Reply

