Slow Cooker Coconut Chicken Curry

Nick has declared this to be one of his favorite meals in a long time. The tomato paste and coconut milk combine to make a thick and rich sauce, and the spice combination provides a luscious Indian flavor. I had never been very aware of Indian cuisine (living in the middle of Wisconsin and all), but Nick has been a fan for quite some time, and he introduced me to it when we moved to Hawaii together after we got married. I remember in Honolulu one authentic Indian restaurant with a tiny dining area, long lines, and an absolutely spectacular menu; this place really turned me on to Indian cuisine and made me want to explore those traditional spice combinations at home in my own kitchen. Nick’s absolute favorite dish at this restaurant was the butter chicken. Although this recipe includes no butter and is my own, Americanized, take on the flavors of Indian cuisine, he says that it does rival his beloved butter chicken! Hooray for that, and for the fact that this is an easy slow cooker recipe that I can throw together on a busy weekday!

2 lbs boneless chicken meat (I used breasts because it is what I had on hand)
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1 cup chopped carrots
1 cup cauliflower florets
1 can coconut milk
1 cup tomato paste
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp curry powder
2 tsp turmeric
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp ginger
1 tsp cardamom
1 tsp coriander
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cloves

Place the chicken and vegetables in your slow cooker. Mix together the coconut milk, tomato paste, and spices and pour the sauce over your meat and veggies. Cook on low for about seven hours, until the chicken is cooked through. A few minutes before serving, remove the chicken and shred. Mix your shredded chicken back into your sauce and enjoy! If you want a ‘starch’ to soak up your extra sauce, try serving it with cauliflower rice or mash; we skipped the filler and just used our spoons to get those last bits of coconutty deliciousness.

I am sharing this recipe at Frugal Food Thursdays, Pennywise Platter Thursday, Cooking Thursday, Simple Lives Thursday, It’s A Keeper Thursday, World Food Thursday at Helladelicious, Fresh Bites Friday, Foodie Friday, Friday Potluck, Food Trip Friday, Friday Favorites, Frugal Friday, Fat Camp Friday, Fun with Food Friday, Foodie Friday, Allergy-Friendly Friday, Feed Me, Tweet Me, Follow Me Home Friday, Primal Cave Friday at Primal Toad, and Fight Back Friday at Food Renegade.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Recipes, Slow Cooker. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Slow Cooker Coconut Chicken Curry

  1. We love curry! Thanks for sharing and enjoy your weekend.

    KB

  2. Clarissa says:

    Looks delish!Thanks for sharing the recipe^_^

    http://ties-bonding.blogspot.com/2011/05/my-kids-bento.html

    Happy FTF!

  3. Dirt to Dinner says:

    I am trying this recipe right now and the whole house smells wonderful! Thanks for sharing this. I’ve been meaning to try Butter Chicken at home for years.

  4. cheerful says:

    looks really delicious and i bet it is! we love curry, thanks for sharing your recipe! anyway, have a great day! -PinayMum – Mommy’s Life Around…

  5. Miranda says:

    I never would have thought of coconut milk and tomato paste. Thanks for sharing this at Fat Camp Friday this weekend. Enjoy your weekend, see you next week!

  6. Sheridan says:

    Delicious! My 3 daughters (6, 4 & 3) and I just devoured our curry for lunch. I omitted the vegies other than the onion/garlic (my hubby says it’s wrong to ruin a good curry with vegetables, so we serve them on the side. Heh heh.) and used cayenne instead of chilli. I made a small batch of coconut flour pancakes to help mop up the sauce. Just waiting for my hubby to wake up after his overnight shift so I can serve it to him. A winner and a dish I will continue to make! Thank you! :)

    • elliemaeh says:

      The coconut pancakes sound like an absolutely delicious idea! I am always looking for grain-free ways to soak up my sauces . . . I bet they would be a welcome switch from my typical cauliflower rice. I’m so glad to hear that the curry was kid-approved!

      • Sheridan says:

        Hubby-approved, too! :) My 3 year old actually wiped her hands on the plate and licked them to get every last drop of sauce…

        I use the Coconut Flour Pancake recipe by Ann Marie @ http://www.cheeseslave.com, except I omitted the sweetener today as it was simply a “food mop”. ;)

        Thanks again for a great recipe! :)

  7. hellaD says:

    I like that idea with the coconut pancakes too. This recipe sounds really delicious. Thanks so much for sharing with World Food Thursdays!

  8. Pingback: Chicken and Tomato Yogurt Curry | A Mom On A Mission . . . . . . to nurture and nourish her family

  9. Pingback: Too Hot To Cook Recipe Listing |

Leave a Reply

