ApriPork Chops in the Slow Cooker

Since my parents were so kind as to get Nick a half of a pig for his birthday, we have been consuming a great deal of pork. This spring I began to realize that, while we had gone through the vast majority of the meat, we still had several packages of pork chops left in the freezer. I do not have many pork chop recipes in my repertoire; they are not something I prepare often. But having that half of a pig in the freezer has been a great culinary motivation for me, encouraging me to get creative with cuts I do not normally use, and I have come up with several winning dishes. This is one of them, another slow cooker recipe that is a snap to assemble and perfect for busy work days. The blend of fruits and spices gives this dish a wonderful combination of sweet, tart, and hot flavors.

4 pork chops
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp red pepper
½ cup dried apricots, chopped
1 cup orange juice
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger
½ tsp cloves

Evenly salt and pepper your pork chops and place in the bottom of your slow cooker. Combine the other ingredients and pour evenly over the pork chops. Cover and cook on low for eight hours. Serve alongside your vegetable of choice. I opted for green bell peppers lightly sautéed in (you guessed it!) coconut oil.

I am sharing this recipe at Frugal Food Thursday, Full Plate Thursday, It’s A Keeper Thursday, and Feed Me, Tweet Me, Follow Me Home Friday.

This entry was posted in Pork, Recipes, Slow Cooker. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ApriPork Chops in the Slow Cooker

  1. Miz Helen says:

    I just shared with my Grandson this morning at breakfast how I loved the combination of pork and apricots and just look at your recipe. This is a great recipe and I know we will just love it. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope to see you next week!

  2. This looks amazing. I have some pork chops in my freezer; I think I’m gonna need to try this recipe soon! Thanks for sharing!

  3. I love the sound of this recipe – especially with the apricots and spices. I’ve bookmarked it to try soon. Thank you for sharing it with Feed Me Tweet Me Follow Me Home last week. I do hope you will come by and link up again tomorrow :)

Leave a Reply

