Hungry Man’s Hungarian Goulash

Did I ever mention the very awesome Christmas present that my parents gave to Nick and me?

Yes, a quarter cow. And that is exactly how they wrapped it up, too – a plastic toy cow and a US quarter in a tiny gift box. We were very excited to pick up the meat after the holidays, and since we have eaten our way through most of the few hundred pounds (that is why you see so many beef recipes on my blog!). Now that we are making room for the meat chickens that will soon be requiring storage space in the freezer, I am focusing on using up the last of the Christmas meat. And I love how it inspires my creativity. Hence, this recipe . . .

3lb beef round steak, cut into chunks
1 large onion, chopped
1 tsp salt
½ tsp pepper
4 cloves garlic
3 tsp paprika
2 bay leaves
12 oz tomato paste
1 cup beef stock
1 cup sour cream                                                                                                                             Parsley for serving

Place all but the final two ingredients in a crock pot, stir to combine, and cook on low for ten hours. How is that for simple? Just before serving remove the bay leaves, stir in the sour cream (which is optional, I suppose, but oh so delicious and creamy) and sprinkle each serving with some parsley for a nice visual effect.

I am sharing this recipe at Hunk of Meat Monday, Masterpiece Monday, the Hearth and Soul blog hop, Totally Tasty Tuesday, Tasty Tuesday, Tuesdays at the Table, Tasty Tuesdays, Tuesday’s Tasty Tidbits, Made From Scratch Tuesday, Grain-Free Tuesdays, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Domestically Divine, What’s On The Menu Wednesday, Real Food Wednesday, What’s On Your Plate, Works for Me Wednesday, Gluten Free Wednesdays, and Full Plate Thursday.

This entry was posted in Beef, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Hungry Man’s Hungarian Goulash

  1. That looks so wonderful. My family would love this.

  2. Looks delicious, love all the flavors in your goulash!

  3. Yummy! That was an awesome Christmas gift.

  4. Marelie says:

    This is really good.I just want a big bowl of rice with goulash toppings..Then Im gonna take a seat in one corner of the sofa,my feet up..and then eat.. hmmnnn… such a comfort.

  5. jenniepaige says:

    OH YUM! I love recipe’s like this. The addition of sour cream I bet makes the dish! I found you over at Real Food Wed. Stop by and say hello!
    Jennie @ Pure Homemaking

    • elliemaeh says:

      The sour cream most certainly does make the dish! I am almost totally paleo, but I have kept some cultured dairy in my diet. In my personal experience it is a net positive in terms of health, and it is so very tasty. That and I live in Wisconsin . . . how could I turn down all of the wonderful artisan cheeses and other delicious cultured dairy products?

  6. Swathi says:

    Looks delicious, thanks for sharing with Hearth and soul blog hop.

  7. Debbie says:

    What a great gift! Thanks for posting your goulash to What’s On the Menu Wednesday. I appreciate the visit.

  8. Candace says:

    Ohmygoodness! What a wonderful present! I absolutely love Hungarian Goulash so I will be saving this recipe to try. It’s so nice to find your blog. I can’t wait to view some of your other beef recipes. We are hoping to go with some family members to buy our meat in bulk as soon as we get some freezer space. Thanks for sharing your recipes!

    • elliemaeh says:

      Buying in bulk is a great way to get quality meat on the cheap – and a chance to test your creativity preparing cuts you would not typically buy. I love experimenting! Thanks so much for stopping by!

  9. YUM! This is a meal my MAN would love.

    I would like to invite you to join in on “Made it on Monday”…a WEEKLY RECIPE LINK PARTY, I host on my blog.

    http://larkscountryheart.blogspot.com/

    *link ups are every week on WED.-SAT*

    I hope you will join in on the fun :)

  10. Miz Helen says:

    Hi Elliemaeh,
    We would just love this wonderful Goulash. It just looks delicious, it is a great recipe! Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope to see you next week!

Leave a Reply

